Archive for December 7th, 2007

07
Dec
07

Weapons of The Klingon Empire – Knives.

In a recent post I introduced you to the glorious Klingon Empire, and their illustrious weapons. Today I thought I’d share a few of the funky looking Klingon hand weapons which I thought were cool, courtesy of Kri’stak forge, of the Klingon Imperial Weapons guild (Yes, they’ve had a guild for years… Get with the program. Sheesh.):

The D’k Tahg (or Dktahg)

the D'kTahg

I introduced you to this weapon in a previous post about a similar blade called Kold Fuzhion. It is one of the most popular combat knives of the Klingon empire. It’s wasp like shape, large slotted ricasso and folding twin guard blades are distinctive features that sets it apart from every other Klingon blade. This is one of my favorite Klingon knife designs, even though I consider the folding guard blades a rather frivolous design feature. Nonetheless I like it’s single mindedness of form. You can tell this is intended to be a thrusting weapon, and not much else.

The Qis

Qis

The Qis is, in my humble opinion, the most practical Klingon combat knife designs. Unlike the previous blade, this knife could be effectively used for both cutting and thrusting, which to me at least, would make it a much superior weapon in combat. And added plus would be that it carries several trademark Hibben design cues, sporting graceful curves, as well as the ever ominous reverse teeth along it’s spine. This blade certainly looked and acted the part of a Klingon combat knife, and is my other favorite Klingon blade. Which is not surprising, I guess, because I already am a big fan of Gil Hibbens’ blade work.

The Ma’veq

The Ma'veq

The Ma’veq is a ceremonial Klingon knife, used in the ceremonial killing of disgraced Klingons by a sibling, in order to bring them honor in the afterlife. This ceremony is called Mauk To’Vor. The logic of this escapes me, but then again I’m not Klingon, so eh. The knife is rather interesting. An elaborate decorated design, this does seem more geared to ceremony than Combat or utility.

The Short TajtIq

Pair of short TajtIq

This dueling knife, is a shortened version of a Klingon sword with the same name. While not the most flashy blade of the Klingon arsenal, it is one of the most sensible, from a utility standpoint. It has a good thrusting point, a deep cutting blade, and integrated cut out guards. It appears to be well designed for dueling. And could conceivably make an excellent all around work knife, if the Klingons had such a thing.

The Qut’luch

The Klingon Qut'Luch - The Assasins Blade

The Qut’luch is one of the more funky blade styles I’ve encountered, and is the only truly weird design I really liked enough to talk about. This is supposedly the traditional blade of a Klingon assasin. You can tell by looking at it, this is is another thrust biased weapon, which kind of makes sense, but then you can also tell it is designed to do more damage coming out than going in.

I suppose that the design of a Qut’luch makes sense from a Klingon perspective, but from this bloggers point of view, it seems like an unnecessary design feature that would simply makes it a bit more difficult to use. But what do i know. I’m not exactly a Klingon assassin…

And that’s it for now. To be sure, there are a few more Klingon knife designs floating about, but these are the only ones I liked enough to blog about. Hopefully that’s good enough for you. Until the next edition of “Weapons of the Klingon Empire”, I say *Qapla’*!! 🙂

Kri’stak Forge – [Klingon Imperial Weapons Guild]




December 2007
M T W T F S S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Subscribe The Dark Realm!

Add to My AOL