Archive for December 19th, 2007

19
Dec
07

A Tanto does not a Bowie Make…

I came across a fairly cool blade recently:

Black Fantasy Bowie

Black Fantasy Bowie
[view full size]

Now I like this knife. I really do. It has a sweet combination of characteristics that would make it the dark beauty of any blade party. (Yes. I have them often. But I only invite guests with lots of points, curves, and a razor sharp wit… 😀 ) The smooth swept blade, the simple brushed pommel and hilt, the textured black grip, and a no nonsense looking scabbard to boot.

BUT… (Don’t you hate how there is almost always a “but”…)

Despite anything that the great site I found this on might say, this, my friends, is not a bowie knife. At least not in the traditional Jim Bowie frontier knife kinda way. This, is what a bowie is supposed to look like:

A Bowie Knife

Traditional Bowie Knife
[view full size]

Do you see the difference? There are some pretty big differences if you ask me. Like the shape and size of the blade. (this is waaay wider than that “Fantasy” one) The cross guard. The “Fantasy” one doesn’t have one) The pommel and hilt of the grip. (The “Fantasy” one has brushed butt and hilt cap) The Black Fantasy Bowie, while cool, is the complete opposite of a Bowie. It is closer in design to a Japanese Tanto than a bowie.

So why the Bowie moniker? Who knows? I’ve learned to stop thinking about these things so much. Questions like these only initiate perpetual waves of mental logic errors in my head…

Black Fantasy Bowie – [BudK]




December 2007
M T W T F S S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Subscribe The Dark Realm!

Add to My AOL