09
Nov
08

How to be Kawaii in a Cruel, Cruel World…

OK, so every now and then I run into weapons that cause a big ‘ol grin to split across the face of yours truly. And i don’t mean a grimace of pain from a horrible weapon, but rather from quirky looking weapons that are actually very well designed, but posses some unique quality that just makes them… cute.

There. I said it. Not just cool. But cute. I’m gonna have to wash my mouth out with concentrated hydrochloric acid after this post, but here it is:

Black Cat Defense Key Chain

Black Cat Defense Key Chain

[click image to view full size]

This is the Black Cat defense Keychain. 🙂 Yeah. I had the same reaction. Basically a small stainless steel keychain ornament, finished in black made in the shape of a sitting, wide eyed black cat. My favorite kind of cat, too, just fyi.

Yes, yes chuckle/giggle all you like, I was impressed. First because this design actually makes for a very potent weapon. I mean look at it. Really look at it. It’s a mini punch dagger. An innocuous, easy to use hand weapon. In black. In an remarkably non threatening (some would say cute) form factor.

Perfect for anyone who didn’t want to be blatantly carrying a weapon around, but still wants a little extra protection. Ok, I’m done. Can’t go any further with this without permanently scarring my masculinity…

At least they didn’t try to do this in a “Hello Kitty” form factor… *shiver* I might have had to kill someone to get my testosterone levels back up…

Black Cat Defense Keychain – [True Swords]

11 Responses to “How to be Kawaii in a Cruel, Cruel World…”


  1. 1 beanjavert
    November 10, 2008 at 5:42 pm

    Tout it as a good punch dagger all you like, Phyre- though, when it comes to masculinity, somehow I doubt this weapon would do you much good!

  2. November 12, 2008 at 12:19 am

    Hey, hey, hey now come on, give it some credit, this would not be much more useful than A kunioichis Neko-te, however for what it is, it would do it’s job excellently. Can you honestly say you’d prefer to be punched by someone wearing these, as opposed to with bare knuckles?

  3. 3 beanjavert
    November 13, 2008 at 9:42 pm

    Now, let’s not get hasty! I’m only… questioning what having this on your keychain would do to your *cough* image.

    You should have learned your lesson from Rukia’s sword earlier!

  4. December 8, 2008 at 5:23 am

    OK I just finally got the Rukias sword monkey off my back, and you had to bring it up… Why you gotta bring up old stuff? 😛

  5. 5 MoZZA!
    December 9, 2008 at 3:09 pm

    *evil grin* i forgot bout the rukia sword incident }=]

  6. December 9, 2008 at 10:42 pm

    LOL I think that “Incident” is best forgotten… 🙂

  7. 7 MoZZA!
    December 10, 2008 at 10:54 am

    … saying nuffink

  8. 8 green_metaflake
    February 1, 2009 at 8:05 am

    The “Cat” design goes back to the late 1970’s. Having one on a keychain would get you in trouble in California if a police officer wanted to make an issue of it. They were sold in drug & convenience stores up by the register as an anti-rape, last-ditch defense weapon. I remember seeing them on a stand-up cardboard point-of-sale display and they were unpainted Zamak (zinc/nagnesium/aluminum). Here’s a plastic one –

    http://us.st12.yimg.com/us.st.yimg.com/I/urdefense_2036_1096938

    Great site BTW!

  9. 9 FAB
    February 15, 2009 at 1:32 pm

    I like the plastic one presented by green_metaflakes! Anyone knows where I could buy one online?
    My GF will love it… as she should, she is a such Kitten after all.
    Thanks.

  10. 10 Cossack
    April 20, 2011 at 2:10 am

    It seems to me that using the above mentioned item ( judging by the apparent width of the finger gaurds ) you would cause serious injury to your own hand . However if it was a one well targeted punch then yes it would cause an ugly possibly fatal wound dependent on the placement .

  11. 11 kuu
    August 24, 2011 at 3:15 pm

    actually it looks more like a doberman


Leave a Reply

November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Subscribe The Dark Realm!

Add to My AOL

