30
Jan
08

A Slingshot… On Steroids!!

When I was younger, my Dad got me a slingshot. Nothing fancy, not like the amazing steel and super rubber stuff they have today, just a simple wooden “Y” with some old fashioned vulcanized rubber. I tell you I had a ball with that thing. When the rubber got tired and broke/died, I sourced new rubber from old car inner tubes and such. When the wood “Y” frame finally broke, I made a new one from whatever was at hand. I loved that thing. But not as much as I would have loved this…

Slingshot Crossbow

Slingshot Crossbow
[view full size]
[view super sized]

Whooo Boy! Now THAT is a Slingshot. Lets see here: A heavy duty, steel reinforced wooden crossbow stock. A strong, spring steel crossbow prod with lots of travel. An all steel cocking/trigger/release mechanism. Yep, ladies and germs, mix that with children, of both the young and old variety, with some time to kill, and what we have here is a bona fide recipe for all manner of projectile based shenanigans.

Notwithstanding the obvious trouble one could get themselves into with such a weapon, this is just a sweet looking slingshot crossbow. And they even retained the little “Y”up front to make it easier for traditional sling shot purists to aim! That is just schweet! Seriously. Now I am actually thankful that we didn’t have things like this when I was growing up. If my dad had gotten me one of these, there would have been no end to the mischief! But I’d have been the coolest kid on the block, because, let’s face it, crossbows are just cool.

In fact, I’d say if you mix any weapon with a crossbow form factor, it becomes like 10 times cooler. Don’t believe me? Look:

  • Bow (Cool.) + Rifle Stock = Crossbow: Super Cool!!
  • Pistol (Sweet.) + Crossbow Prod = Pistol Crossbow: Uber Sweet!!
  • Slingshot (Noice.) + Rifle stock = Crossbow Slinghsot: Hella Noice!!
  • Imperial Blaster Carbine: (Awesome.) + Crossbow Prod = Bowcaster: Mega Awesome!!

Any questions?

Crossbow Slingshot – [Knights Edge]

7 Responses to “A Slingshot… On Steroids!!”


  1. 1 ladyofspiders
    January 31, 2008 at 2:28 pm

    Haha, that is a sweeet sling shot right there.

  2. 2 CapnPervy
    January 31, 2008 at 8:05 pm

    props for the star wars reference.

  3. January 31, 2008 at 11:13 pm

    That is pretty cool. I remember making a sling shot the old fasioned way…a ‘Y’ branch and rubber bands. I had the metal wrist rocket also, that was badass when you were a kid. This looks like a fun project for me and my nephew to make.

  4. February 1, 2008 at 10:04 am

    @LoS
    Indeed, this is like the ultmate sling shot. Just think, you are not limited to single handed draw strength… The limits of what you could shoot with this thing are far above that of a regular slingshot… Oh, the many machinations of my mischievous mind… LOL

    @CapnPervy
    LOL OK, how about this:
    Bows were used by Ewoks.
    Blaster Carbines were toted by clone troopers.
    Now a little fuzzy math:
    Little Furry Freedom Fighters + Badass Clone Troopers = Big Bad Furry Resistance Fighters.
    Now what race does that sound like? Wookies!! And what do Wookies use? Bowcasters!
    Kinda makes you wonder. Actually what I find more frightening is that I actually put that much thought into this…

    @Sinza
    Man, I never got one of those steel wrist rocket thingys. Of course where I grew up, we didn’t have them. I might go look for one just for nostalgias sake. : ) But yeah, this crossbow would actually make a great construction project. Actually a long time ago I also ran across a guide book on how to make a crossbow using a bow and a pellet gun or something, dunno if you’ve ever run across it. But I thought that would be an interesting project too. I have it saved somewhere I’ll see if I can dig it up…

  5. 5 Relativelybest
    August 21, 2008 at 4:28 am

    As a matter of fact, these were actual medieval weapons, though I think they were less popular then real crossbows for obvious reasons.

  6. August 21, 2008 at 8:44 pm

    Yeah, I can just imagine if you had to use this in some open peat bog/grasslands, how bad it would suck to have to carry your ammo with you… Or of you ran out… 🙂

  7. August 3, 2013 at 7:22 am

    Hello! I could have sworn I’ve visited your blog before but after going through many of the articles I realized it’s new to
    me. Nonetheless, I’m definitely delighted I came across it and I’ll be bookmarking it and checking back regularly!


Leave a Reply

January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Subscribe The Dark Realm!

Add to My AOL

