06
Nov
08

The Zombies Ate My Brain…

I’m guessing it was while I wasn’t looking. During a movie. Resident Evil, to be specific. How do I know this? Because I just ran into a weapon that is supposedly from the movie RE, and I cannot, for the life (or brains) of me, remember anything remotely similar being in the movie…

Alices Zombie Extinction Arm Spikes - AKA Zombie Killing Kunai

Alice's Zombie Extinction Arm Spikes - AKA Zombie Killing Kunai

[click image to view full size]

Ok, so what are these? Well, to be honest, I haven’t the foggiest. Prolly on account of my brains being consumed and all. But I can certainly try to determine how they might be used…

So what these look like are a set of cast alloy spikes, with a faux Kunai four sided diamond like cross section. With a ring on top. Again like a kunai. What little is left of my brain is getting very suspicious.

Each side if the spike is cast with a rectangular parallelogram. Why? I dunno. But a pattern appears to be emerging. They are thick, low quality castings (like a Kunai) have a ring (like a kunai) come in multiples (Much like Kunai) and even have a leather wrist holster (Can anyone say “Ninja “?)

And to top it all off, I do not recall seeing anything like this in any of the Resident Evil movies… So here’s what I think the real story is. Some enterprising knife designer decided to design an “original” kunai. For some reason, they don’t sell. Then marketing hits on a brilliant idea:

Brand it as a weapon used by a popular (and pretty) protagonist (Alice), from a popular series of movies- Resident Evil. Voila! Alice now uses Kunai to kill Zombies… Alllllrighty then.

Any questions?

Alices Zombie Extinction Arm spikes Kunai – [True Swords]

10 Responses to “The Zombies Ate My Brain…”


  1. 1 Stilllife
    November 7, 2008 at 9:10 pm

    I don’t remember anything like this weapon in any of the RE movies either. I also don’t see this as being anything like a kunai, and I also find this to be a pretty impractical weapon, what with the high probability of injuring your own hand and all.

  2. 2 beanjavert
    November 8, 2008 at 5:48 pm

    Wait… how the hell would you use this?
    It doesn’t seem to have any sort of handle, and the ring is at best a poor sustitute.

    WTF?

  3. November 9, 2008 at 1:26 am

    @StillLife
    The Kunai resemblance I was referring to is in reference to the highly stylized kunai we see in ninja anime. They are characterized by a very thick blade, with a diamond shaped cross section, attached to a cloth wrapped cylindrical grip, and ending in the trademark loop.

    This weapon fits that description somewhat, with the exceptions being that it lacks a grip, and goes straight to the loop, which is also more cylindrical than the anime kunai. Not saying that this is what Kunai are supposed to look like, but I can see how a person using the anime as a design reference might come up with something like this…

    @BeanJavert
    Well, because of the size of that loop, the most practical way I can think of would be to use it with a reverse (ice pick) grip, holding the “blade” in the palm of the hand, and placing your thumb through the loop. The edges are not sharp, much like Kunai, so it could be palmed and used like a dagger, but the spike itself really seems too short to make it particularly effective this way. Unless you have small hands.

    There are other possible grips, like with the spike between the fingers with the ring in the palm, or the ring on a finger with the spike pointing outwards, but both of these, as StillLife suggested, might result in lots of pain for the wielder… 🙂

    Just another one of those weapons not really designed with ergonomics in mind… :/

  4. 4 beanjavert
    November 9, 2008 at 4:11 pm

    Oh, I see what I did- I assumed that it was larger than it was, assuming the ring to be roughly the diameter of my arm. Obviously, not effective.

    But yeah, I suppose it’s just another churned-out “replica”…
    Especially seeing as it’s a replica of nothing…

  5. November 12, 2008 at 12:17 am

    Indeed. Replicas of nothing. Masquerading as weapons worth something. It’s always an adventure… 🙂

  6. 6 Nich
    January 27, 2009 at 12:54 pm

    To me, these look like a very bad attempt at making segmented knuckle spikes. I don’t think they’re meant to be used individually, rather one on each finger to act like that adorable (still rather out of it on eggnog, although much more coherent now) punch dagger you featured. Honestly that thing looks like someone froze a kittens skull to force through your gut, ears first. And you folks say our host hasn’t any masculinity. Ha, by digressing I’ve managed to combine two long overdue revues. Anyway I can’t think of any other reason to sell them by threes, and the rings might prevent some damage as they twirl around like parade battons when you’re going in for the kill.

  7. 7 Pef
    February 15, 2009 at 6:38 pm

    i think they might be used as (if its a good steel) as anchor phytons for rock climbers …
    just drive them in with a hammer till only the ring is out of the rock … then anchor the cord to it…. now, the arm sheath would tire your hands a bit too soon but hey … i found a use for them.

    also , i think the original use was to spin them on one finger , then throw them , or else just throw them and use the ring as a handle to retrieve them from the target.

  8. 8 Nich
    February 21, 2009 at 7:23 pm

    Throw them how? It’s true that when I looked them up in trueswords they were listed in throwers, but having so much metal (the ring) in back of so short a spike really throws all notion of balance out the window from five stories up. If they weren’t a mite expensive anchor phytons they could be marketed as, but… meh, these just befuddle me no matter how I attempt to enforce a body tackle of logical thought upon them. If you’ve bought these already, take up rock climbing as per Pef’s suggestion.

  9. February 23, 2009 at 12:22 pm

    @Pef
    Yeah these are of some cheap cast alloy so I can almost guarantee they wouldn’t hold up to any kind of abuse, especially not rockclimbing…

    @Nich
    I wouldn’t even suggest rock climbing with these… As far as i can tell they are purly decorative pieces, short of looking interesting and stabbing very soft targets they don’t seem to have any practical value…

  10. 10 eli roberts
    September 11, 2013 at 9:36 pm

    use the blade design, add a properly weighted handle with the correct length, throwing dagger


Leave a Reply

November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Subscribe The Dark Realm!

Add to My AOL

