21
Dec
07

A Devilishly Cool Dagger…

With my recent post on serious fighting knives, I thought I’d follow up with a post on a less utilitarian, and more aesthetically interesting blade.

Devils Glare Dagger

Devils Glare Dagger
[view full size]

Now this is an interesting little piece. I find this dagger interesting because of it’s heavy reliance on straight lines, and most predominantly, triangles, in it’s design. I like the angularity of it’s geometry, the cut of it’s jib… well, you get the picture.

This weapon is an interesting study in triangulation. First you have the blade, which is essentially, one big triangle that comes to a really sharp point. I like that. The blade has a large void, (also triangular) leading down to the hilt, which is adorned with what I can only presume is a devils skull, with a set of blue eyes. I don’t really know what they are made of, but they look cool, and set off the rest of the hilt quite well.

The guard consists of a set of triangular spikes emanating perpendicularly outwards from the demons cheekbones, and backed up with yet another smaller set of similar spikes at a 45 degree angle to the guard. The grip extends from the bottom of the skull, and is also a gradually tapering triangle, adorned with small squares (or a collection of triangles) down to the triangularly pointed pommel.

Triangles all around. I’ll bet Pythagoras would have loved this dagger…

Devils Glare Dagger – [Collectors Edge]


15 Responses to “A Devilishly Cool Dagger…”


  1. 1 ladyofspiders
    December 21, 2007 at 5:29 pm

    I really like the look of the blade, but as crazy as this may sound, for some reason, the hilt to me looked like the Empire State building sitting on the head of the Statue of Liberty. That is the first thing that came to mind when I saw it.

  2. December 21, 2007 at 10:15 pm

    Hmmm… Perhaps not so crazy. When I look at the hilt, I don’t see the statue of liberty, I see a helmet that looks a little like the helmet of Maximus Decimus Meridius from the movie Gladiator. (One of my favorite helmet designs) But atop that, you are right, it does look like the Empire State Building… LOL

  3. 3 ladyofspiders
    December 21, 2007 at 10:18 pm

    Hehe well I guess the Empire State building thing just made me think in the lines of New York so then the other part of it, the triangles on the side made me think of the Statue of Liberties crown thing she has one her head.

  4. 4 Relativelybest
    August 21, 2008 at 4:11 am

    The problem, as I see it, is the hole in the blade. The thing about triangular blades is that they are almost always made for stabbing and piercing, and this is especially true for daggers. But to have a sturdy stabbing blade you need rigidity, which usually means a blade with a diamond cross-section. This blade just comes off as very weak in that department, alas.

  5. August 21, 2008 at 8:36 pm

    Well I certainly don’t like unneccesary voids in my blades, but looking at this one, I didn’t think it was that bad. If you draw a line thougth the center of the dagger, and you look at the amount of steel on either side of the void in relation to a solid dagger (say an FS fighting knife) it actually compares favorably.

    And this is just speculation on my part, but I think it’s possible that the fact that it is a triangular may actually make it a stronger design. It’s waaay to wide though… so even if it were stronger (which is a BIG if), I don’t think it would make a better knife…

  6. 6 Crosseyes
    August 24, 2008 at 9:27 pm

    Am I the only one who sees the Autobots logo on that guard?

    Yes, yes I am
    Crosseyes
    X_X

  7. August 25, 2008 at 1:47 am

    LOL Ya beat me to it…

    Yes. Yes you are. 😀

  8. 8 Crosseyes
    August 25, 2008 at 9:44 am

    ya, but lookin again, his eyes seem too fiery to be mechanical…

    Maybe he’s the robot devil? (Futurama)
    Crosseyes
    X_X

  9. August 26, 2008 at 11:37 pm

    Hmmm… Wrong color, but a bit better match than the Autobot logo…

  10. 10 Traitor's Heart
    February 22, 2009 at 12:55 am

    Where can I find such a dagger? I have an infatuation with knives and weapons of most sorts, but I have an almost unhealthy love of beautiful weapons. Is it possible to buy a dagger like this? And if so, where? The perfect symmetry is almost intoxicating…
    *wistful sigh*

  11. 12 shirkeneater
    February 27, 2009 at 7:41 pm

    again (for future refrence i am a very bad speller) i may be an idot but don’t you guys think that if it was used as a stabbing blade wouldent the tip break off easly? I mean you would only get to use it about 2 times am i right or just and idot?

    =0*

  12. March 1, 2009 at 1:23 am

    @shirkeneater
    the only stupid questions are the ones that aren’t asked. Well at least most of them anyway.

    But to answer your question, no. Daggers are not designed to handle shear or bending forces, they are intended to be used generally for thrusting into soft targets, so it would only break if you are using them wrong. If you stabbed a really narrow tip into something hard, like a large bone, then yes, maybe the tip might break off, but it would generally be the result of a weak design, a bad choice of steel, and improper use, or some combination thereof…

  13. 14 shirkeneater
    March 4, 2009 at 7:45 pm

    oh ok becouse when i use exacto knives(no not to cut myself) i usuly break the tip off of them realy easly

  14. April 2, 2013 at 6:01 pm

    Can u buy it anywhere?


Leave a comment


December 2007
M T W T F S S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Subscribe The Dark Realm!

Add to My AOL