18
Jun
07

Holey Whirling Hurlbats Batman!

OK, I just couldn’t resist the odd Batman reference, even though our weapon du jour has nothing really to do with either Batman, Batarangs, or even bats for that matter, except maybe for the fact that they are both made to fly through the air. Today we are going to look at another special throwing axe, (You may or may not call it a “Tactical” weapon of you want, I’m soo over that…) called the hurlbat. Now these are sweet. Below are a few interesting hurlbat designs:

Gothic <-> Holey Whirling <-> Crescent

A Gothic Hurlbat A fancy Hurlbat A Crescent Hurlbat
[view full size] – [view full size] – [view full size]

Pointy points, n curvy blades, just like I like ’em! BTW, in case you haven’t figured it out, the middle weapon is not officially called a “Holey Whirling Hurlbat”. I dunno what it’s called, but it’s got a hole in the blade, and it probably does whirl just as good as the next hurlbat, so I opted to employ the creative license afforded me by virtue of my ownership of this blog, and call it a “Holey Whirly Hurlbat”. Not to mention it sounds corny and Batman like, which I know will prolly elicit some random eye rolling. Hah! I saw that! Mission Accomplished!

Anyway, as you can see, a hurlbat was a very simple weapon, a solid piece of steel, with every practical point or edge sharpened to maximize it’s effectiveness. My kind of weapon! Now as throwing axes go, hurlbats represent some of the most basic but effective kinds of throwing weapons available to medieval warriors. Having no handle scales or padding and being of a one piece design, they would have been relatively simple to manufacture compared to a sword or dagger, and easy to maintain. Did I mention that this is my kind of weapon?

In fact the only strike, albeit a minor one, I would place against the medieval hurlbat would be that they weren’t double bladed. I’d mention the fact that they aren’t black, but that would just be me being nitpicky. There are modern day equivalents to the hurlbat, such as the excellent Beil-Ax, but the Beil-Ax is not as aesthetically pleasing to me as a Hurlbat. And its not black either. (Huh? Stop what? No. No, I won’t stop. I wont stop until someone starts making Black, double-bladed Hurlbats. In fact I refuse to stop until people start making more black weapons! I’ll Never Stop!! Oww!… Enough with the pinching already! OK, ok, I’ll stop, i’ll stop… Maybe…)

Gothic Hurlbat – [Arms and Armour Manufacture]
Fancy Hurlbat – [Arms and Armour Manufacture]
Crescent Hurlbat – [Arms and Armour Manufacture]


4 Responses to “Holey Whirling Hurlbats Batman!”


  1. June 19, 2007 at 12:52 pm

    O.K. son, I’ll learn ya.

    Buy some steel, find a water jet cutting company, give them the pattern to cut out, buy a small belt sander to bevel edge, and call your local powder coating shop to make it black.
    Simple. You could have what you want in a week or two.
    STOP waiting for someone else to make what you want AND MAKE WHAT YOU WANT. You might even make a few bucks!!
    Years ago I wanted a REAL Klingon Dak’Da (o.k. I have a bit of the fanboy neard in me too) but nobody make them NOBODY. I could get a crap aluminum unsharpened repo, but I wanted a real one. So I went out and got a book on how to make knives, bought some steel, and started cutting. Do it, you’ll love it!

  2. June 19, 2007 at 4:35 pm

    ROFL! AHA! A fellow fanboy nerd!! LOL. See now I’ve also always thought Klingon weapons were cool. I actually have steel replicas of both the Sword of Kahless and a standard Bat’leth. You wanna see some cool blades, visit Kri’stak Forge of the Imperial Weapons Guild – http://www.klingonimperialweaponsguild.org/pages/kristak.htm

    The page hasn’t been updated for a couple of years, but they have some cool heat treated titanium Klingon weapons.

    And you’re right about making my own weapons, I’m sure I’d be much happier designing my own weapons, I was just doing my little rant thing, I find it much more humorous to complain about it. LOL.

    I prolly ought to just get off my big fat hiene and start making what I want, instead of being a whiny little armchair blade designer… But it’s soo much cheaper this way… LOL…

  3. 3 ChroniclerLoki
    September 30, 2008 at 12:03 am

    Fanboys Unite!!!!!

    I especially love watching Aya Brea from Parasite Eve 2 wielding Squall Leonheart’s (Final Fantasy 8) Gunblade. What is it with petite women holding really big… um, swords, guns, whatever you want to call them? And if you thought that was dirty then you should stay out of my mind.

  4. October 5, 2008 at 2:44 am

    Well. I have to say I respect any woman who can handle a large sword… And I mean that. In the most honest and sincere way possible. 😀


Leave a comment


June 2007
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Subscribe The Dark Realm!

Add to My AOL