16
Jun
07

My Favorite Glaive.

Welcome to yet another post about foldy, flying, bladed implements… Yes, it’s another glaive post. No, ya cheeky little ninny, I have not run out of material to blog (believe you me!). It’s just how my freaky, little, mildly OC mind works; it tends to follow any given track to exhaustion… Don’t worry, I think this will be the last glaive. At least for now… I think… MUA HA HA Ha ha ha ha ha haaa…! Pfft..! Y’all are no fun.

But anyway back to the topic at hand. This glaive is special. Special primarily because I think I could actually convert this design for contemporary throwing weapon use without too much mechanical head banging. Not to mention that it is also the most powerful glaive (in all glaivedom… LOL… heh…) to ever grace the silver screen. I give you the glaive of Prince Colwyn of the movie Krull.

The Krull Glaive

Krull Glaive
[view full size]

In the movie Krull, the protagonist (Prince Colwyn) wielded a mystical weapon called the Glaive (of course!). Now from a practical and mechanical stand point, I think this glaive is perhaps the best designed weapon of the three distinct designs we have looked at so far, though a bit on the gaudy side for my tastes. It was a five legged design, each blade being deployed in a “out-the-front” switchblade style from each leg when in action, and retracting into the leg when stowed.

This design allowed for it to be thrown by holding any one of the legs, which, being offset from the center of the weapon, allowed greater control than any of the other glaive designs we have seen so far. One big advantage with this design is that I think one could incorporate a centrifugally actuated mechanism to make the blades deploy while in flight, making it easier (and safer for the little piggly wigglies) to throw.

The design of each double edged pointed blade was also well thought out, down to the angle at which they exited the glaive, so that it could easily be thrown with the intention of cutting its target without sticking, or so that it would “dig in” and stick on contact.

Now in the movie, the protagonist could control this thing mentally so that it acted like a freakin’ remote controlled frisby of death, but, much to my chagrin, I’m quite sure I would find myself unable to replicate this behavior in a replica weapon. However, assuming due attention was paid to maximizing the internal structural support the each blade, and also that the deployment and retention mechanisms were mechanically robust, this blade would fly circles around the other two designs.

Now I have already mentioned that I am not a big fan of the surface aesthetics of it’s design. The bright colors and flashy gems give it a much too gaudy air. However this glaive gets my vote, hands down, as the weapon I would be most likely to pick up, were I given a choice between this, the BeastMasters Caber or Blades Shredder. I’d have to pop out the shiny stuff, pointy the points a bit, sharpen the lines a tad and powder coat it black though…

The Krull Glaive – [Your Props.com]

18 Responses to “My Favorite Glaive.”


  1. July 28, 2008 at 8:41 pm

    Thanks for all these glaive posts. I just bought the master cutlery “cyclone” glaive that you covered in another post. It r so cool! Plus, it wAs only 10 bucks where I got it! Can’t wait until I get a chance to throw it at my archery target. Unfortunately, my parents don’t know I bought it :} you wouldn’t happen to know a proper throwing technique would you?

  2. 2 Crosseyes
    July 28, 2008 at 10:36 pm

    Jesus also used this in the fantastic easter special episode of south park to take down a very drunk with power Bill Donahue. It was fantastic.

  3. July 29, 2008 at 3:01 pm

    @Koroso
    Proper throwing technique for a Cyclone?? No, I don’t even believe there *is* a proper throwing technique for that particular weapon. You could technically hold it by one of the blades and throw it in an overhand fashion like a shuriken… But those things are really not realistically designed for throwing. My advice? Don’t throw it at all..

    @Crosseyes
    Was that the gun toting, knife wielding, 40ounce (or was it JD) swigging Jesus episode? LOL

  4. 4 Crosseyes
    July 30, 2008 at 5:01 pm

    No it wasn’t the Iraq episode, it was the one where they were ripping off the da vinci code, and saint peter was supposedly a rabit (peter rabit, get it?)

  5. July 31, 2008 at 10:49 pm

    Man… I’m gonna have to find that now…

  6. 6 Niccolo
    August 1, 2008 at 3:36 am

    Hokay… I’m gonna bite. Is this REALLY a glaive? I honestly thought a glaive was closer to an axe on a stick rather than something one threw.

  7. 7 Crosseyes
    August 1, 2008 at 8:00 pm

    Huh… (dictionary.com result for “Glaive”) “a sword or broadsword.” he may have a point there…

    To watch any south park episode for free go to southparkstudios.com you’ll find it there
    Crosseyes
    X_X

  8. 8 Crosseyes
    August 1, 2008 at 8:02 pm

    WHAT IS UP WITH THAT GO–MN WINKING GUY??

    he’s reeeeealy starting to annoy me…
    Crosseyes
    X_X

  9. August 1, 2008 at 11:35 pm

    @Niccolo
    You are correct, these weapons are technically not “glaives”, at least not in the medieval historic sense. If you look at my very first Glaive post, you’ll see that i make the distinction…

    The term Glaive now has an additional meaning inferred upon it by hollywood, to describe a variety of multi bladed hand held throwing implement…

    @Crosseyes
    Actually, the Dictionary.com definition is a less commonly used reference. It is more commonly used to refer to the polearm. However the term has been appropriated by the movie industry to refer to weapons like these, perhaps because the earlier use of the word, whose root is in the latin Gladius, was a more poetic way of saying sword…

    I guess Hollywood figured that there was poetry in the idea of a spinning, flying, boomerang like blade, and decided to apply the term Glaive to them…

  10. 10 Niccolo
    August 2, 2008 at 3:35 am

    So… is this desire to burn Hollywood normal, now?

  11. 11 Crosseyes
    August 2, 2008 at 2:07 pm

    I dunno, this is all much too confusing for me *_*

    what with the dictionary, and hollywood, and… I think I’m going to take a nap now…
    Crosseyes
    X_X

  12. 12 Macdef1
    August 7, 2008 at 6:55 am

    I know this guy Ric who has a little sword.

  13. August 17, 2008 at 6:56 pm

    OK then… Thanks for sharing…

  14. August 21, 2008 at 9:12 am

    Can I ask though – how did you get this picked up and into google news?

    Very impressive that this blog is syndicated through Google and is it something that is just up to Google or you actively created?

    Obviously this is a popular blog with great data so well done on your seo success..

    Archery greats you should write about next, my ex was an Archery champ!

  15. August 21, 2008 at 8:52 pm

    This blog is syndicated by Google news? Huh! Well that’s news to me… 🙂 Honestly, I have no idea how anybody picks this blog up anymore… Maybe a wordpress.com thing… I dunno.

    I just started this blog to write about something I enjoy… It’s cool to see that people are enjoying it too though… Thanks!

    Archery greats… Well we’ll see… I don’t have any expansive experience in that area, apart from a little personal archery experience and some interesting historic tidbits, but I’ll keep it in mind for a future topic…

    Thanks!

  16. 16 ChroniclerLoki
    September 29, 2008 at 11:05 pm

    Lol, archery is one of my favorite topics. I’d love to get back into it. Phyreblade, I found your blog by accident while searching the topic of Glaives actually :). And I find your ability to make up new words on the go, if not the words themselves very amusing man.

  17. October 5, 2008 at 2:42 am

    LOL why thank ye, thank ye very much!! 🙂

  18. 18 Joe the Rat
    February 13, 2009 at 7:46 am

    I tend to think of this Baroque badboy as the original Glaive – the first flying-spinny-bladed death weapon Hollywood called a ‘Glaive’. Which makes the earlier (by one year) Beastmaster scissor-hatchet the Ur-Glaive. Near-practicality aside, be glad this came along – otherwise you’d have been talking about Blade’s Shredder Caber.


Leave a Reply

June 2007
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Subscribe The Dark Realm!

Add to My AOL

