30
Sep
08

An Interesting Mughal Blade…

A while back, I had a reader ask for some information on Mughal period weaponry. Not knowing too much about it, I did some reading up and found that the Mughal period was a historic period in India that ran roughly from the 16th to 19th Century, where a large portion of the Indian subcontinent of Asia was ruled by Islamic Imperialists.

However I also quickly discovered that the Mughal period covered waaaay too much time and encompassed a large a geographical area that sported too many different but entirely indigenous weapon designs for me to single any specific one out. So due to my rather dwindling time resources, I wasn’t able to be much help (for which I apologize).

However during my travails, I did manage to turn up one rather unusual supposed example of Mughal weaponry:

The Sword of the Mughals

The Sword of the Mughals

This sword features a damascus blade that starts out fairly straight, but curves mildly towards the tip into a rather wicked looking point. The spine of the sword follows suit, except for the top third, which looks a lot like it was cut down from a much larger, wider deeply curved scimitar.

The hilt is also unusual for a Persian blade, featuring no cross guard, and almost straight grip, but a reverse curving pommel, molded into the head of a stallion. Overall an interesting (if a little perplexing) study in Persian weapon design.

This blade is an interesting mix of flavors, part scimitar, part broadsword, with an unusual hilt design. The weapon, as a whole seems to match little of the historical weapon patterns of the area that I’m aware of, but instead seems to be a variation of a mix of different Persian weapon styles that have themselves been modified.

As an example of Mughal style weaponry, I must admit to being a bit flummoxed by the design. Most of the authentic historical weapons I came across when I was doing my initial research on the topic, bore significant differences in design.

I’m tempted to say this is another fanciful but failed attempt by an overzealous weapon designer to create a historical Mughal blade with generous helpings of creative license thrown into the design process. But being no expert in Mughal specific blades, who knows…

But no matter. It does not look bad on it’s own merits, even if it’s just a little too tame by my standards…

The Sword of the Mughals – [Realm Collections]

7 Responses to “An Interesting Mughal Blade…”


  1. 1 ladyofspiders
    October 1, 2008 at 5:48 pm

    oooooh I really like it. I LOVE the horse head hilt

  2. 2 beanjavert
    October 2, 2008 at 8:04 pm

    I like it, actually! The hilt reminds me of a chess Knight…

    Anyone know what it’s made of? I might just buy one…

  3. October 5, 2008 at 3:00 am

    @LoS
    You like the horse head on it? Interesting! I thought it was cool, but i kept thinking it would be mighty uncomfortable to wield… 🙂

    @Beanjavert
    The blade of this sword is of Damascus steel, and the hilt is described as being of “metal” so I’d guess it is some form of cast alloy…

  4. 4 ladyofspiders
    October 5, 2008 at 9:54 pm

    Yes I agree, thought usually I complain about unpracticality, I have a thing for horses, and so though it perhaps would not be the best for using in this case, it is hard for me to resisit, becasue it is just so cool looking.

  5. 5 beanjavert
    October 6, 2008 at 6:49 pm

    Honestly, the horse handle just reminds me of chess… thus, it’s practically irresistable.

    And, if the handle were made smaller, if would probably be a very interesting piece indeed…

  6. October 12, 2008 at 8:58 pm

    @LoS
    Well that is understandable. Horses are very cool… In fact if they made the pommel a lot larger, it would probably handle very well too…

    @BJ
    Chess fan are we? Yeah, if you remove the blade, the grip could almost pass for a tall, skinny knight… LOL

  7. 7 MoZZA!
    December 9, 2008 at 3:24 pm

    schweeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeet!
    nice work on the highly informative post bruv!


Leave a Reply

September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Subscribe The Dark Realm!

Add to My AOL

