24
Sep
08

A Cool Ninja Fighting Knife…

Yes, yes, another “ninja” weapon, I know. And it’s another “inspired by an anime” weapon too… But trust me, this one is different. This blade is actually realistic (of all things!) in it’s design. Yep. Lots to like about this, as you’ll see in a minute. Might want to grab that cuppa joe and get comfortable…

Ninja Fighter

Ninja Fighter

[click image to view full size]

Now this, my friends, is a Ninja fighting knife. What we have here is a one piece brass knuckles/blade combination, with cord wrapped ABS grips, that house a pair of red tassled metal kunai. A very interesting and also very practical (imho) combination.

There are a couple of things that I have issues with, (as usual) but they are all relatively minor. Like bright red tassels and “metal” kunai… Usually the word “metal”, as used in the cultery advertising sense, generally describes some cheap cast/alloy junk.

In this day and age where fairly strong steels can be had very cheaply, why some folks still resort to the ultra cheap cast/alloy junk is beyond me. However seeing as traditional Kunai were traditionally also made of a soft iron, It’s a flaw that I can kind of overlook…

Aaaahhh… Eeerrrm… Aaarrhg… No it’s not. I tried. That’s just wrong yo… 😡

Then there is the molded ABS grip/kunai holder. As materials go, ABS is actually not a bad choice. It’s fairly indestructible, resistant to the environment, etc. However, sometimes the molds used are less than perfect, resulting in gaps, slipping, etc.

And since this is where your only purchase on the blade will be I sincerely hope they did a good job on it. It’s hard to tell from the looks of it, but personally, I think this weapon would have been even better, if they would have stuck to a simple cord wrapped grip or wood scales.

And as for those red tasseled “metal” Kunai… Well, it’s just eye candy really, this weapon could have stood on it’s own merits of dark wickedness and badassitude. There was really no reason to throw all that fancy schmancy junk on it to begin with. But such it is with knife designers these days. Always trying to appease “Ooooh ! Shiny!” crowd…

Interestingly enough, this weapon is based on a set of blades used in the anime Series “Naruto” by the character “Sarutobi Asuma”, son of the Third Hokage, and a seasoned, hard core, chain smoking Ninja of the series, who used two of these, (knives akimbo no less, John Woo eat your heart out…), as focus points for his chi during battle, making them quite a lot more deadly than just regular blades.

Sarutobi Asuma

Sarutobi Asuma

I remember liking his knives the first time I saw them in the series, and could remember thinking at the time about the similarities between it and the venerable, tried and true WWII trench knife design. Yes, this design is the bees knees because not only is it a wicked little blade, (in black no less) it is actually very similar to that of a well known historical blade design. Except with more pointy bits. 😀 In other words… it rocks!!

I will say however, that the shrill voiced, high pitched little weapon history nerd who lives in my head, kept screeching his exception to my comparison between this and the WWII trench knife. He as a good point, so I guess I might as well go over the gist of our little “conversation” the few minutes before I lost it and had to gag him…

He basically said (and the purist, tradition bound Ninjutstu-ka among you may probably agree) “Bah! Your brain is addled! Ninja never used WWII trench knives!!”. (Well, Duuuuuh!) After pointing out that he lived there, so I couldn’t be that addled, (or maybe I am, because he lives there) I also conceded that no, they did not. At least not that I have been able to find.

HOWEVER, the Japanese did have hand weapons, called Tekken, (or Iron fist) that looked a lot like heavy iron knuckle dusters, that were often used against swords and armor. They also had Kaiken, which were similar, except for having a sharpened outer edge. And they also had Tantos.

So while I have found no examples of this exact weapons being used, I have no problems imagining that the Shinobi, being the resourceful little warriors they were, would have eventually combined these weapons and could easily have come up with this exact design, given the right battle conditions.

So there you have it. An cool black wicked looking anime weapon with a realistic, functional, tried and true design, with a historically verifiable pedigree. Sorta.

Ah liek eht. Ah liek eht a lot… 🙂

Ninja Fighter – [True Swords]

9 Responses to “A Cool Ninja Fighting Knife…”


  1. 1 CapnPervy
    September 26, 2008 at 9:55 am

    i can’t believe you didn’t mention how flimsy the knuckle part looked! honestly, it looks like i could cut through it with a wire cutter.

  2. September 26, 2008 at 7:40 pm

    what a beautiful blade, but when i first saw the picture, i imediatly thought of the ww1 trench knife, very cool:)

    I like the fancy design, but tassles are probably the dumbest thing ever invented, they look horrible, and not even fancy either. I would totally buy it if i was spending my off time throwing 20’s out the car window on a highway, but i digress.

    nice critique, i love it:)

  3. October 5, 2008 at 2:04 am

    @CapnPervy
    Good point there… I hadn;t thought of that, but now that you mention it, this isn’t really a good facsimile of a knuckle duster, in that it is much weaker in a number of areas, such as that transition between the blade and the knuckle spikes, and the pommel, etc… Dunno if you’d be able to get through it with wire cutters though, but certainly with a pair of bolt cutters… 🙂

    @Jordan
    Tassels… Useful for some things, on a kunai, they would add stability… But then again, any self respecting ninja would not need any added assistance in this area… So this isn’t one of those times when tassels are appropriate… LOL

  4. 4 beanjavert
    October 7, 2008 at 5:24 pm

    Right now, it’s a toss-up between these and those kunai you posted recently for my next purchase. =)

  5. October 12, 2008 at 9:28 pm

    Yeah, they are a tough choice eh?… Me personally I’d go for the kunai, just to see how well they fly… 🙂 Who am I kidding… If I were shopping for presents for myself I’d prolly get both… LOL

  6. 6 AJ
    October 13, 2008 at 1:19 am

    lol get me one…

  7. October 14, 2008 at 9:57 pm

    LOL When my money tree grows up and the fruit ripens… I’ll be the knife buying fool… Knives for everyone!! 😀

  8. 8 MoZZA!
    December 9, 2008 at 3:28 pm

    with a bit of mod’ding up dude this could be a highly effective trench knife… but whats the point enough trenchers out there already and probably better ones too

  9. December 9, 2008 at 10:47 pm

    True, it looks nice, but as trench knives go, there are better designs. However I agree with you, with the right modifications, this one would be pretty evil… 😀


Leave a Reply

September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Subscribe The Dark Realm!

Add to My AOL

