01
Sep
08

Wolverine Claws… Revisited.

OK, so if you’ve been reading this blog for any amount of time, you may know that I have several posts related to the topic of the retractable adamantium claws of our all time favorite X-Man, Wolverine.

In fact, I have talked about several different kinds of Wolverine claws, and innumerable miserable replicas and wannabes, from X-Claws that would most likely implant themselves in your knuckles, to the Bear and Pantera claws and so on, that would probably rotate down and try and embed themselves in your wrist if you ever tried to do anything even remotely Wolvie-like with them.

I think I even looked at the practicality of having claws surgically implanted in ones forearm… (Just as a quick reminder to everyone, that was a distinct “No Go”). However there is one last way to get Wolverine claws that i don’t think anyone has talked about. At least not until now. Probably because it would be the fastest way to get good old Wolvie to relieve you of your lease on life.

What is this new and exciting trick? Well… How about this. You cut off one of Logans hands, extract the adamantium skeleton (including, of course the precious claws) Extend the claws, fix them in place, and strap the whole thing to your wrist…

Yeah… I never said it would be easy. Or even survivable. But it appears that someone has replicated just that particular option. I give you: the Skull Gauntlet.

Skull Gauntlet

Skull Gauntlet

[Click Image to view full size]

Ok, ok, yes, yes yes, so Wolvie never had little skulls on his knuckles or embedded into his wrist. But the guys who are selling this assure us that it will make you and I look like wolverine, except better… Honest!

OK. Whatever you say. But I have one word for you:

BLASPHEMY!!!!

Absolute heresy. No external claws of any kind will EVAR look better than Wolverines. Just not gonna happen. No. Don’t even think about it.

BTW, In case you hadn’t realized, that last paragraph was my feeble attempt to short circuit any possible subsequent fanboi rant comments resulting from this post. I do not expect to see any more. Be warned. Lest you want a claw, upside your head. With a swiftness.

What? Don’t think I can deliver a claw upside your head over the internets? Please. Try me. Just try me. Please.

But back to the nitty gritty. What you are looking at is a very stylized satin finished stainless steel skeleton of a wrist and hand, with small skulls over each knuckle, and a larger stylized skull over the wrist, with what looks like skeletal bands extending down on either side of the wrist. By no means an anatomically correct representation, as it appears to be missing a set of phalangeal bones, and has some sort of structural webbing between the metacarpals, probably to short circuit any “Hey! You ripped off Wolverines skeleton!” claims, but good enough.

However what it does have are claws. Beautiful, beautiful claws. A set of three sweet steel claws extending from between the knuckles. And, in an unprecedented act of practicality, the wrist of this hand is attached to a what appears to be a leather band in the back, and in front, attached to the knuckles, a steel bracket with an actual grip!! Ye Gods! Someone could actually use this! AMAZING!!!

Providing no ridiculously weak joints exist between the blades, the bracket and the rest of the gauntlet/hand, I must admit, this is one of the first truly practical implementation of wolverine claws I have come across. I could seriously do without the skulls, (I see human, elven, dwarven and orc skulls all over the place in my cave here, thanks to the roach-like orcs that appear to have infested the place, and frankly, it’s getting old…) and all the extraneous steel (which we have discovered, thanks to the hands-on review by Sinza over at Exotic Automatic, is actually a plastic covering over a steel frame) wrapping down around the side in the back, but I’m stoked enough that it is actually a practical, though rather non-conformist, design.

And it’s a clever, if a little twisted, idea. to boot. Why try and remove the claws from the Wolverine? Just leave them on and strap his whole hand to your wrist instead. Heh. And I thought I was nuts. But in the greatest of ironies… I think this would actually work!

Who would have thunk it. I think I may have to restructure my universal paradigm…

*Edit*

Just a quick update. Sinza, a buddy, and founder of the Exotic Automatic forum, has done a full hands-on review of these claws, and has posted a lot of great details about it’s construction, as well as some practical insights it’s design strengths and weaknesses. He also provides some excellent suggestions on how to improve the design. If you are interested in this weapon, you should go check it out out here:

Fixed Blade Xiphoids @ Exotic Automatic

It’s about the 4th post in the thread. Enjoy… 😉

PB out.

Skull Gauntlet – [eBlade Store]

9 Responses to “Wolverine Claws… Revisited.”


  1. 1 Niccolo
    September 1, 2008 at 5:51 am

    Shock and horror. The most ornate version is also the most practical? I think I just heard countless ‘art’ blades dying horrible, horrible deaths. I hope they make good teaspoons.

    What I really wanna see, though, is how the claws are fastened onto the steel brace. It looks good, and the parts that I can see look solid, but Gods help me if those claws are just riveted on…

  2. September 1, 2008 at 10:31 am

    Really, I agree, the structural integrity of the build is my only concern about this design. It’s too hard to tell from the pic how well connected everything is, And stuff like this I usually don’t get to see in person before I post, so your guess is as good as mine, but assuming that everything is solidly connected, this would be the most practical version of Wolverine claws I have run into so far… It’s almost sacrilegious to see how horribly blinged out it is…

  3. 3 MoZZA
    September 2, 2008 at 3:28 am

    phyre… the cats and tigers post…. was it the tekkagi?

  4. September 3, 2008 at 5:02 pm

    Wow, these fancy blades really amaze me with their so called ability to ‘hold together’. Hey, it looks sweet, but i find it hard to believe that thing would really hold together after a stab. Very nice looking though, i would love to have it. Looks pretty scary too.

    just a quick question, i was just wondering, do you review a lot of weapons from ebladestore, or do they just have a bunch stupid weapons that are fun to beat down on?no offense, i love your blog dude.

  5. September 3, 2008 at 11:51 pm

    @Mozza
    Yes, yes, good eye man! This is a very good example of the Japanese Tekagi (or Tekko-Kagi) hand claw design… Good catch, I hadn’t even thought about that! I think I like the design for the same reasons I like the Tekagi design…

    @Jordan
    Well yes, that’s the iffy part here, I can’t really tell how well this thing is put together. If it is well constructed, strong, large welds, or big bolts or something, than this would actually be a great design. Otherwise, it’s just another display piece/wall hanger…

    And to answer your question, I actually go looking for blades from all over the place, not just eBladestore. The weapons links on the right have a lot of the places i find some of the more “interesting” weapons I blog about. They aren’t all bad. I run into quite a few well designed weapons, I’ve just been finding a lot of goofy blades to rant about lately…

    There are unique weapons all over the web, but there are a few places that carry a wider selection of distinctive blades than others, so I tend to write about blades from them more than others. But I’ll write about weapons from any site that has interesting weapons and good, large, clean pics, so if I can’t get one to play with, I can use the pics for reference…

  6. 6 MoZZA
    September 5, 2008 at 5:19 am

    i thought it looked a bit similar was all 😀

  7. September 17, 2008 at 7:42 am

    Couldn’t resist any longer…..I just ordered it.
    Should be here next week I would think.
    When I get it I’ll do a review with close up pictures and post it over at ‘Exotic Automatic’ forum.

    Two things did it for me…the wrist strap for added stability and the skeleton hand. This looks a lot like a Wolverine skeleton claw letter opener I own, but bigger.
    I’m really thinking about getting two, as these are the nicest I’ve seen so far and it would be killer to have both hands full. *SKNIT*

  8. September 17, 2008 at 8:24 pm

    Hi
    Fucking hard thinking posts

  9. September 18, 2008 at 12:28 am

    @Mozza
    They are, bruv, they are… 🙂

    @Sinza
    LOL… Sweet!!! Can’t wait!! Though if it were me, I’d wait and see how well the first one turns out to be before going for another…

    Oh and for those who want to see pics of this bad boy, close up, Pay Sinza’s site a visit:
    http://sinza.forumotion.com … Trust me… you should check it out even if you don’t care about wolverine claws… 😀

    @Chinaman
    Thanks… I try… 😉


Leave a Reply

September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Subscribe The Dark Realm!

Add to My AOL

