31
Jul
08

Unpushable Spider Legged Push Daggers…

So today I thought I’d post about an little push dagger that… Can’t really be used as a push dagger:

Skull Spider

click image to view full size

click image to view full size

Ah yes… The classic tenets of form following whatever the heck suits the knife maker at the moment… *Sigh*

Now don’t get me wrong. I do like the aesthetics of this blade. the combination of a skull head with spider legs is actually quite a cool concept, and apart from a couple of the legs emanating from weird angles, I like the overall design.

Except I wish they would have used it as something other than the grip of a weapon for whom the grip shape is particularly relevant, indispensable even, to it’s proper intended use. This is just my opinion, but I’m pretty sure no one really wants a palm full of metal spider legs and skull spider mandibles when wielding a push blade. But you know, I’m just particular like that…

At least the site on which I found it had the good sense not to try and call it a push dagger. So I suppose it’s a cool blade, just so long as you aren’t planning to actually use it.

Use it…?

LOL Yeah, right. What am I thinking…

Skull Spider – [True Swords]

19 Responses to “Unpushable Spider Legged Push Daggers…”


  1. 1 ladyofspiders
    August 1, 2008 at 10:38 am

    I am going to have to disagree with you on this one. I felt the design upon this one was a bit over done even for my taste. It just does not appeal to me I must admit.

  2. 2 Crosseyes
    August 1, 2008 at 8:23 pm

    When someone with spiders in her name says a spider-shaped blade is over-done, you know it’s got to be. The great investigator I am, I looked over this for a while, trying to find a way to make it out as more than just dust-bait. If you mean what I think you mean by “push blade” then I think I’ve got it (keep in mind I’ve never actually held this blade, and I only have one 2D picture to work with) :

    Middle and ring fingers sraight over the center with pointer and pinky gripping between the bottom leg and tusk on either side and thumb under the middle of the blade for balance and grip.

    I think if there was any way, that would be it.
    Crosseyes
    X_X

  3. August 1, 2008 at 11:44 pm

    LOL OK, Well I guess I’m outnumbered… LOL…

    I think you have to have used a push blade to really understand how bad this design is from a practical perspective. It’s really, really messed up… Trust me…

    But I still think the skull spider idea is cool. I like the concept. I would probably have rearranged the legs and gone for a more open design with sharper, edgier lines, but I’d still go for it.

    My only major gripes were that I didn’t like the blade art, and it is totally unsuited for the kind of blade it is attached to. I would have preferred this design on a sword, like as a guard, or something…

  4. 4 Crosseyes
    August 2, 2008 at 2:13 pm

    Y’know, that would’ve been a good idea for a guard… call someone with some welding experience, we need a sword.

    We’ll call it the Frankenstien 😀
    Crosseyes
    X_X

  5. August 17, 2008 at 6:58 pm

    That’s what I was thinking… Would have been better as anything but this…

  6. 6 Crosseyes
    August 24, 2008 at 10:26 pm

    Ah well, not everything can go the way you want, else you live in a perfect world and then you just end up rejecting it like the first version of the matrix 😀

    “why is his head so big? WHY is his head so big?” – GIR
    Crosseyes
    X_X

  7. August 25, 2008 at 1:42 am

    Hmm… Good suggestion, I should just reject this reality and substitute my own… 😀

  8. 8 Crosseyes
    August 25, 2008 at 9:35 am

    Now your getting into the finale of “the melencholy of haruhu suzumaya”….. jeez, two references on the same blog, I’m gonna end up turning into “that anime guy” -_-

    …great
    Crosseyes
    X_X

  9. 9 MoZZA
    August 26, 2008 at 1:58 pm

    well im doin a NVQ level 1 to 2 welding and fabrication course if that helps 😄

  10. August 27, 2008 at 12:29 am

    No, actually I think your time would be better served watching more Anime like the rest of us… LOL 🙂

  11. 11 MoZZA
    August 27, 2008 at 6:41 am

    LoL! cowboy bebop \m/ !!*_*!! \m/

  12. August 27, 2008 at 11:16 pm

    Ahh yes… Cowboy Bebop… Loved that show… 🙂

  13. 13 MoZZA
    August 28, 2008 at 6:17 am

    i must say that pierre le fou episode was by far the best

  14. 14 gothog
    August 28, 2008 at 7:00 pm

    ok, it’s unfortunate that I didn’t catch this post until now. Phyre is completely right in the fact that as a Push Dagger, this is a useless design, you could attempt to hold it as Crosseyes has mentioned though such a grip is very uncomfortable to maintain and an type of resistance while wielding the blade would cause your grip to shift potentially causing you to drop the blade or worse, remove a finger. Unfortunately, this cool design is, in this martial artists opinion, condemned to gather dust.

  15. August 28, 2008 at 9:52 pm

    @Mozza
    The “Pierre Le Fou” episode is certainly one of the best… It’s hard for me to pick just one, there were so many good ones… I can say that “Jamming with Edward” just cracks me up every time… “Real Folk Blues 1+2” were also classic, though bittersweet… I had bad endings…

    @Gothog
    Yeah, I’m thinking a lot weapons like these are pretty much art, ice breakers and wall hangers, and not much else…

  16. 16 MoZZA
    August 30, 2008 at 6:07 pm

    hmmm i agree jamming with edward is pretty cool… a bored sattelite?! whod have thunk it LOL.
    but ya cant beat toys in the attic… i knew a friend whos fridge looked like that LOL

  17. August 31, 2008 at 3:05 pm

    Yeah Toys in the Attic was another good one… Arrgh… But they were all good… LOL

  18. 18 Crosseyes
    September 1, 2008 at 12:16 am

    Huh, so this is the type of crowd I dropped by in, I normally hold back with the anime references until I figure out who I’m dealing with. You better watch out, sooner or later I’m going to start up with Samurai Champloo and Blood+ (blood+ = ok show, but the sword was what was really Kickin’)

    Well, I gave figurin this one out my best, I said it here somewhere that I really like to find the function in all those eye candies, but some of these just dig their own graves and there’s nothin I can do about it ~_~

    p.s. Edward Is the best of the show

    Mushroom Samba
    Crosseyes
    X_X

  19. September 1, 2008 at 9:48 am

    Samurai Champloo… Excellent Series!
    Blood+… Meh. It was an OK show. But I agree… Cool sword! The concept for it was a little flawed, but the design ended up being very cool…
    In fact I think I wrote a post here somewhere about it…


Leave a Reply

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Subscribe The Dark Realm!

Add to My AOL

