14
Jul
08

Freaky Wings of Blade…

I posted recently about the various niches in “bladed art”, and thought this would be an interesting addition to the list of things that get a hearty “What in the name of…” from yours truly:

The Night Glider

The Night Glider - Click to view full size

Now I found this… creature… on an Australian website while looking for something else, but it definitely caught my eye. Now I know I had mentioned before that there were quite a few crossover bladed art pieces, but this is something new…

The Night Glider

The Night Glider - Click to view full size

The Night Glider looks to be a cross between a dragon, a greyhound, and a vengeful revenant… Except it’s limbs have been replaced by rather substantial blades. It’s arms are a set of outstretched dragon like wings, tipped with a large fore-to-aft curving blade, with a smaller sub-blade protruding backwards from where the traditional thumb joint would normally be in such winged marvels.

The Night Glider - Click for full size

The Night Glider - Click to view full size

It’s upper body and head are suitably revenant like, looking like an incompletely (but symmetrically), decomposed skeleton brought back to do some… Errr unsavory task. The back half is an interesting mix of bony canine (hence the greyhound reference) and dragon, complete with pointy tail. What’s even more striking is that the rear paws of this particular canine have been replaced with a set of rather intimidating blades, which kinda raises the thorny philosophical question… How does it land?

The Night Glider

The Night Glider

In fact, given how much of it’s extended skeleton has been converted to blades, albeit unsharpened ones, I dare say this unfortunate chap must actually fly (or glide…) continuously, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week , 365 days a year, as it appears to be ill equipped for any kind of terrestrially based activity… That’s assuming it could actually fly with metal wings.

Actually, now that I think about it, why not? It worked for Archangel didn’t it? All it would have to worry about would be sticking the landing. Or not sticking the landing. Depending on how you look at it.

Ok, I’ll stop rambling now…

18 Responses to “Freaky Wings of Blade…”


  1. 1 Niccolo
    July 15, 2008 at 3:29 am

    O.o What the devil IS that?

    I look at those blades and all I can think of are those crazy blade-creatures from The Suffering. xD I’m willing to bet that this… thing is a carnivore.

    Makes me glad we just have regular bats.

  2. 2 Crosseyes
    July 15, 2008 at 5:05 pm

    I have a new first place for my “list of things I’m glad don’t fly”, bumping elephants to #2 (bird crap is bad enough)

    A friend of mine actually has something similar to this (minus all the weird sekeletry [real word? I bet not] of course.) It’s pretty badass, and I can actually see some functionality in those multiple outpointed blades it’s got (stabbing of course taking high priority.)

    Greyhound-dragons would be so cool for the racetracks
    Crosseyes
    X_X

  3. July 15, 2008 at 10:06 pm

    Hmm…
    The suffering eh? I don’t think I’ve seen that. Another one to add to my rather voluminous, ever growing list…

    LOL flying elephants?… LOL I’m sure a *present* from something like that would break windshields and cave in roofs…

    I could totally see flying greyhound races though…

  4. 4 Crosseyes
    July 18, 2008 at 12:53 am

    One problem I find with this little beauty is the sheathing. For it to be any use it would have to either retract or come with an equally kick-ass looking sheath-like object.

    Oh, and it would have to step off its “pedestal” there…

    Great Idea: we should totally crossbreed bats with greyhounds, just give me a decade or so to read the instruction manual
    Crosseyes
    X_X

  5. 5 ladyofspiders
    July 20, 2008 at 10:25 am

    That is a work of art, not a weapon. It would be utterly impossible to use.

  6. July 21, 2008 at 12:32 am

    LOL indeed it is, this is absolutely more an Object d’art than a weapon. I suppose if you grabbed it by it’s torso you could do some damage to someone with it but you could easily damage yourself as well… 🙂

  7. 7 Crosseyes
    July 21, 2008 at 2:56 am

    nah, if you were to hold it in any way, it would be with the face in your palm, ribs pointed up, and your middle and ring around the torso, or possibly the middle on top of the torso with pointer and ring on either side… I think that would be the best bet.

    Call me old fasioned, but I don’t really see these types of blades as art. I mean, I guess anything forged to a certain design is art, but what I’m saying is that I don’t believe they were made solely for the purpose of show. I may be ignorant, but If I see a blade, I immediately asess it based on function first, and form second, or possibly even third… Honestly I would never purchase a blade just for show, it sets a weird mood that I wouldn’t really be cool with. It’s kind of like those rich guys who mount large, deactivated rifles on the wall next to animal heads to show off their manlyness to women. Except in the case of something like this, it just makes you seem extreamly gothic and will probably scare off all but a couple types of women (won’t get into that…)

    Oh great, I started rambling again. I’m going to wrap this up now and say that I put things like this peice into one of two catagories:

    1) Combat weapon with some artistic finess
    2) A gallery piece with pointy edges

    No offence to my peeps in the black clothes of course 😀
    Crosseyes
    X_X

  8. 8 Crosseyes
    July 21, 2008 at 2:59 am

    DAMN YOU SMILEY! grr… please disregard that winking guy at the end of paragraph 2, he was supposed to be an end parenthesis 😡

  9. July 23, 2008 at 7:46 am

    Hi, this is my blog, pls visit it and let me know the suggestions to improve it, thanks, munish mahajan

  10. 10 Crosseyes
    July 23, 2008 at 6:10 pm

    … uhhhhh, what?

  11. July 24, 2008 at 2:01 am

    @Crosseyes
    “Except in the case of something like this, it just makes you seem extreamly gothic and will probably scare off all but a couple types of women (won’t get into that… ;)”

    Have some personal experience with this do we? 😀

    @jetlite
    If you’d like me to help you with a blog, please post it in the suggestion box. And make sure it’s an actual blog and not an advertising page. If you make another non blade related post anywhere but the suggestion box, I will be banning you without further notice. Just a little warning.

  12. 12 Crosseyes
    July 25, 2008 at 11:40 pm

    uhhhh… n/c.

    This is all I’ll say: Never do anything you wouldn’t want to explain to the paramedics

    Moving On
    Crosseyes
    X_X

  13. 14 gothog
    August 28, 2008 at 11:32 pm

    Honestly, I think “What in the name of…?” is a fitting category. I’ve actually had the chance to hold this particular showpiece, and the weight of it makes any logical use impossible, it is in fact a showpiece with no intended use aside from sitting on a shelf.

  14. 15 Niccolo
    August 29, 2008 at 8:59 am

    While it’s good to have that confirmed, we had sorta extrapolated that from the sheer retardation of the design.

    What would have happened, by the way, if you’d thrown it like a paper plane?

  15. 16 gothog
    August 29, 2008 at 2:28 pm

    almost certain that this would fall to the ground with the blades pointed up no matter which way you throw it given the fact that the head is so much heavier than the rest of the “weapon”

  16. August 29, 2008 at 6:49 pm

    Thrown it like a paper plane?? ROFL… I’m thinking this would be best used as a blunt instrument to clobber your opponent to death… Any incidental stabbing wounds would just be circumstantial icing on the cake… LOL

  17. 18 gothog
    August 29, 2008 at 7:19 pm

    LOL, agreed


Leave a Reply

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Subscribe The Dark Realm!

Add to My AOL

