21
Jun
08

An enigmatic blade…

So I ran across this interesting little blade a while back, just haven’t had the time to post about it. Fortunately, I got this afternoon off, so here is:

The Shapely Enigma

The Shapely Enigma

Sadly, I have not been able to find any more info about this blade, or better pictures, for that matter, so this rather poor one will have to do, but as you can see, this is a rather shapely enigma indeed…

It looks to me like an over sized kerambit with an ornately finished hilt. The seductively curving blade is finished in a faux damascus pattern, probably acid etched, judging from the clean look of the very small edge ground into the inside curve of the blade.

The ricasso of this knife is rather eloquently punctuated with a number of reverse hooks cut out of the spine with an unusual pattern ending in a forward facing spine, looking almost like a talon or claw, cut out on the edge side of the ricasso.

The guard is another aesthetic touch I found quite pleasing, consisting of a similar, upward pointing talon on the front, and a rearward pointing one on the back. In addition, the forward spine seems to flow down and incorporate itself into the design of the grip.

The black textured grip, incorporating an integrated sub hilt for added control, does a good job of accentuating the rest of the hilt, with an almost dragon scale like appearance that flows naturally into the beak/talon patterned pommel. Now normally this level of detail in the pommel puts me off, but somewhow in this blade it just seems to add to it’s elegance.

So yeah… I’m liking this blade. Not sure what it is… Perhaps it’s subtle organic shape just appeals to my base instincts… But I just had to take a moment to write about it.

And now it’s back to the grind for me… Stay tuned… I’m still around… Just slacking on my posting a bit… LOL

The Shapely Enigma – [Realm Collections]

10 Responses to “An enigmatic blade…”


  1. 1 Chewy
    June 22, 2008 at 11:32 am

    Now, when i look at this blade, it seems to me, that if you were to actually hold it as intended, the blade would curve downward, suggesting that it’s use to cut someones throat from behind.Very specialized

  2. 2 ladyofspiders
    June 23, 2008 at 9:36 am

    Ooooh *love at first sight* that is sweet, it might be one of my faveoirte things you have posted. I just love it

  3. June 23, 2008 at 7:28 pm

    @Chewy
    Ah… This blade is a little tricky like that… It does look like it was intended to be used like a rear edged Trench knife, but I’m not entirely convinced.

    It all depends on whether this is double or single edged. It’s hard to tell from the pic, but i think this is a single edged weapon. I’ve blown it up, enhanced it and looked at it every which way, and that rear edge seems like a false edge. The lighting could just be bad and it could be real, but I just cant say for sure.

    If it is a double edged blade then I agree with you 100%… But ive seen weirder designs that made no sense, so I’ve learned not to assume that the most common sense answer is the right one with fantasy knife designs…

    @LoS
    You know, as soon as I saw it I knew you’d like it… 😀

  4. 4 Niccolo
    June 25, 2008 at 10:34 pm

    Oh, my. That is one heck of a nice blade, even if it’d be interestingly difficult to fight with.
    Mind you, if the inwards curve is edged, then… well, it’d be a great disembowelling tool. While it’d still be hard to fight with (anything that bends against the strike like that is hard to use…) you know that any hit you get in is not exactly gonna be superficial.

    I like. I like it a lot. And I want. (I guess I love elegance)

  5. June 25, 2008 at 11:26 pm

    Well the thing is that, while this blade ostensibly seems to defy conventional design logic, I do know of one other blade that also follows this unusual blade pattern. The Kerambit/Karambit, is a fighting blade that employs an inward curving blade with the edge on the inner curve, as opposed to the outer curve. There are also Spydercos, to name an example from a more contemporary knife maker, that do the same.

    I can actually think of advantages to having a blade designed this way, though I have not had any training in this particular style, so I cannot say if it they would be worth it compared to traditional fighting knife designs. But I doubt this could be any better at disembowelment than the tried and true Japanese Tanto… LOL

  6. 6 Jared
    June 27, 2008 at 1:02 am

    It’s called a hawksbill grind, basically a wharncliff with a recurve 🙂 Also for $24.95 it’s most definitely a faux damascus.

  7. July 7, 2008 at 7:27 pm

    Thanks for the info Jared! And yeah, I’m actually quite sure it’s not real damascus… I was just wondering if this blade design had any advantages over say an FS/Shanghai design for combat. I’ve seen examples of a few Silat based Karambit style, but they are a lot more fluid and flexible than this particular design seems like it would allow…

  8. 8 beanjavert
    November 13, 2008 at 9:35 pm

    I really like the design of this blade, but the faux damascus looks REALLY ugly. There’s just too much going on on that blade.

  9. December 8, 2008 at 5:21 am

    I didn’t think the faux damascus was that bad… It could have been a little cleaner, but…

  10. 10 kuu
    August 24, 2011 at 4:34 pm

    i know what you mean, it looks totally feral, elegant and functional at the same time, its craftness epic-tome


Leave a Reply

June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Subscribe The Dark Realm!

Add to My AOL

