07
Jun
08

Cave Pandinus Imperator…

For those not totally and uncompromisingly nerdy, Yes. The title of this post is relevant (scientifically, any way) to the blade we’ll be looking at today… 😛

Scorpion Fantasy Knife

Scorpion Fantasy Knife

I’m just going to assume at this point that the average reader of this blog is intelligent enough to have figured out that Pandinus Imperator is the scientific name of the venerable Black Emperor Scorpion, AKA the African Emperor Scorpion. throwing “Cave”, the latin for “beware” in front should (in theory) translate to “Beware the Black Emperior Scorpion…” Neat huh? What? Hey, I thought it was cool… Whatever…

Bah humbug. Well I’m also going to assume you understand why I chose this particular title. Even though technically, it’s misleading, as the Black Emperor Scorpion is one of the most benevolent Emperors around, and is in fact, the scorpion of choice for those who keep them as pets… But If not, I apologise, but you will need to send me $50 in US currency, in order to discover the oh, so very intriguing reasons… 😛

Anyway, back to the topic at hand, I must admit to being a little surprised by the outstanding basic honesty of whoever named this blade. Unlike much of the usual black ronin samurai ninja fare i come across, “Scorpion Fantasy Knife” is comparatively simple, perhaps a little too simple. But it is straight to the point, and does not pretend to be anything it’s not. In fact they could have just gotten away with something as simple as “Black Scorpion dagger/blade” and not have sounded pretentious… But I’m just nitpicking here…

But names, both scientific and fantasy, aside, I must say I love the contours of the blade. Curves that go on for days. The entire blade profile consist of nothing but arcs of varying radii intersecting each other. Eve n the finger guard is an uninterrupted continuation of the bottom most blade arc. Just wickedly sweet looking IMHO. It’s a little bit bowie, a little bit Swords of Chaos, and all in beautiful black.

Now the hilt, weeeelll… that’s a mixed bag. As usual the designer has opted to go with the form over function school and has created a designer piece that has a rather poor grip. Too short, too much curve, all show, little go. Not that the idea wasn’t a good one. From an aesthetic perspective, they have captured the tail of the scorpion quite well. Even down the that excellently formed and placed stinger pommel.

I guess I should stop trying to evaluate artsy blades from the standpoint of practical functionality. I do like it’s looks. It’s just that the whole lack of functionality can usually be avoided without sacrificing the aesthetics. But it seems like they don’t even try. It’s a crying shame I tell ya. A crying shame…

Scorpion Fantasy Knife – [Realm Collections]

12 Responses to “Cave Pandinus Imperator…”


  1. 1 ladyofspiders
    June 8, 2008 at 12:01 am

    Though as much as I usually dislike a blade with a disfuntional hilt, I just fell in love with this one when I saw it, probably not too surprising that I have a thing for scorpions, they are in the arachnid family.

    Though I do wish I could just take the hilt of that blade, and braid it into the my hair. Someone told me once, I needed a scorpian tail at the end of my hair, and I agreed that would be awsoemly cool. Becasue it is really long and I usaully alway ware it in a braid so I could just whip it around at people.

  2. June 9, 2008 at 1:31 am

    I’ve owned a few Black Emperor Scorpions, neat pets for what they are. Interesting body structure.
    The knife…I love the blade, don’t care much for the handle. ….But I really like the blade….I’d have to tear it apart and make a different handle for it, make it a user knife.

    ladyofspiders …..need to get some big beads with the last bead being a stinger. Braid those into your hair. Would be way cool!

  3. June 9, 2008 at 3:37 pm

    @LoS
    Actually i think this is a pretty cool weapon idea overall, the it’s unfortunate it was designed more for aesthetic effect than functionality. I suppose it would be much better suited as a hair adornment than a grip… The scopion tail hair idea is cool though… you should try Sinzs idea… LOL I can just see it…

    Someone makes an irritating comment, and you instantly whip your head to the side, and the little stinger comes hurtling through the air and across the unsuspecting fools cheek, leaving a gash… Then you’ll be like “SILENCE! YOU UNWORTHY INFIDEL!!”… as they sit in stunned silence… ROFL… 😀

    @Sinza
    You had pet scorpions eh? Why am I not surprised… Though I’m interested in knowing what you considered odd about their body structure. Where I grew up we had lots of these, so I consider these almost normal. Maybe a bit on the chubby side compared to some of their more northern counterparts, but…

    Yeah, I agree I do really love the blade on this, It’s one of the coolest I’ve seen of this type. The hilt wouldn’t be so bad if it weren’t so totally ergonomically unfriendly. I’d probably go for a taller straight grip, maybe add finger recesses instead of those segments, and pop that stinger pommel on the end of that… Now THAT would be cool…

  4. 4 ladyofspiders
    June 9, 2008 at 4:48 pm

    Haha, I like that, it does have style

  5. June 10, 2008 at 1:55 am

    I am impressed with this blade really looking like a scorpian! It is always amazing to see how creative sword and blade makers become with imagination and life experiences.

  6. 6 Niccolo
    June 12, 2008 at 1:53 am

    Wow. I love the patterning on those beads…It’s almost swirly. Like the blade didn’t have enough curves as it is, so they stuck more there. Curves within curves within curves. Beautiful.

  7. June 18, 2008 at 1:39 pm

    Ah ah ah….I didn’t say odd…I said interesting.

    Little tanks…I had a real big one for a while, his name was Ravage ..or ‘Monster Bug’…

    He would do all kinds of weird things. He dug a huge tunnel system in his tank…always hiding.
    Climbing up the branches I had in there, all spider like. He would do this weird thing where he would kinda flatten out and take his front and second pair of legs and reach over on top and be rubbing his head/top of body. Was wild watching him eat as they don’t have teeth, just another set of smaller claws that reach out from under their head and chew/rip up the food. I’d tap his claws with a pencil and soon he’d grab the pencil…and I’d grab another…and sword fight with him 🙂 Good times….

  8. June 20, 2008 at 4:46 pm

    LOL Sword fighting a scorpion… LOL Must have been fun.. 😀

  9. 9 Crosseyes
    June 24, 2008 at 12:29 pm

    NO! Don’t teach scorpions to swordfight! next thing you know they’ll master guns, then explosives, then neuclear weapons! this message brought to you by the people against neuclear scorpion holocosts.
    😀

    anyway, this is a fairly good design of dagger, of course from the look it was never actually meant to be used. That’s what I can’t stand; artists who think they have to sacrifice functionality for display value. just by making the hilt more grip-friendly, and possibly giving that stinger a 180, they could’ve made a beuty that’s also a beast. As much as I’d like to give this thing a thumbs up, I have to go with Phyre, DON’T SACRIFICE FUNCTION FOR FORM. Thumbs down 😦

  10. July 9, 2008 at 9:58 pm

    LOL Hey Crosseyes, don’t be so hasty about the scorpion fighting. Have you ever seen the 1993 Robot Wars movie? Now that is a scorpion I’d like to see in real life…

  11. 11 kuu
    August 24, 2011 at 4:35 pm

    Heeeeeeeere kitty kitty kitty *while wielding blade*

    just nasty


Leave a Reply

June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Subscribe The Dark Realm!

Add to My AOL

