09
May
08

And Now for Something Completely Different…

In my last post I did a little gushing about how black blades are the greatest thing since sliced bread, all that and a bag of chips, etc. etc. etc. Well, I came across this interesting blade from the Anime series Bleach, and decided, to be fair, to blog about a sword from the complete opposite end of the spectrum. I give you:

Rukia Kukichi’s Zanpakuto “Sode no Shirayuki”

(Sleeved White Snow)

Rukia Sleeved White Snow Sword

[view full size]

Now this sword, is a Zanpakutō, or soul cutting sword, and each is imbued with a sentient spirit that helps it’s wielder to battle otherworldy foes. This particular Zanpakuto is wielded by the co-protagonist Rukia Kukichi, who is herself a soul reaper. When it’s sentient spirit is activated, the sword becomes completely snow white, with a characteristic long white ribbon, and gains awesome power.

As swords go, this is almost as far as you can get from the sinister black swords I usually blog about. The sword itself is not particularly remarkable, it is a fairly standard katana, save for the extended white grip, and corresponding snow white saya and ribbon, which also happens to sport a kawaii little silver smiley…

Not particularly menacing… However in the series, it is just as lethal as any other… So don’t hate it because it’s white… and it’s got a ribbon… and a smiley… and it’s all Kawaii… errm… *cough*

I can feel my testosterone ebbing away with every additional word. So I’ll be ending this post here… I’m thinking I’m gonna have to blog about something particularly wicked next time around…
Rukia Kukichi Zanpakuto “Sleeved White Snow” – [True Swords]

7 Responses to “And Now for Something Completely Different…”


  1. 1 Niccolo
    May 9, 2008 at 2:58 am

    Aww, you DO have a sweet bone in your body! Hehehe. Actually, this is one of my favourite Zankapato, next to Renji’s and the weird exploding one… and you have to admit, something that can freeze the hell out of anything should really be white.

  2. May 9, 2008 at 10:51 pm

    I don’t know if I’d necessarily call it “sweet”… 😛

    But yes, in this case, the two most appropriate colors for an ice weapon would be powder blue or white, and I really dislike pastels…

  3. May 10, 2008 at 7:19 am

    All I can think about is how it’s going to look covered in blood! That’s really going to stand out nice. I’m sure the handle would get a sweet blood spatter look to it soon enough.

  4. 4 Niccolo
    May 10, 2008 at 7:29 pm

    Too true. That is definitely another advantage of white things; they show up blood very, very well.

  5. May 10, 2008 at 8:07 pm

    LOL Sinza, man, why didn’t you pipe up before I had lost a good 50% of my testosterone to the white/cuteness of this blade…? LOL

    You had to wait until I was trying to protect my warm nougat center to come up with an appropriately testosterone enhancing point of view on the thing… Gee thanks… *Sigh*

    Either way you still get 100 internet points for that excellent observation… 😀

    Oh, and for the record, people, I do not actually have a warm nougat center… That statement was purely for illustrative purposes only. It’s more like hot magma/molten lava center. Pls do not confuse the two… One is nice and sweet. The other will burn you and all you love to the ground.

    kthnxbai. 🙂

  6. 6 ladyofspiders
    May 11, 2008 at 8:03 pm

    Yay another Zanpakutō, you know I love these things.

  7. 7 BLACK WIDOW1300
    May 2, 2009 at 4:05 pm

    contrary to my undying love purely evil things, i must say this is a pretty kick-ass sword.


Leave a Reply

May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Subscribe The Dark Realm!

Add to My AOL

