29
Apr
08

Pocket Knives Galore

You may or may not have guessed this, but I am a big fan of knives. 😀 I would love nothing more than to be able to pick which big knife to put on my belt after choosing what color shirt I to wear on any given day. Only problem is that most of my knives are illegal to wear on the street.

All except for my pocket knives. These I can (and do) wear with impunity anywhere and everywhere. Almost. I will admit to having had to surreptitiously “discard” a knife here or there because I forgot that I was wearing them. Until I see the great looming metal detector ahead… :/ Sadly I have lost more knives that way…

But today I thought I’d share a few pics of some cool looking knives I recently ran across. Nothing designer, like J. A. Harkins stuff, just some cool off the shelf Timber Wolf blades:

Tough Terrain Folder

Tough Terrain Folder

[view Full size]

<^>

Tavern Dweller

Tavern Dweller

[view full size]

Now these I like simply because of the design contrast. Black pocket knives tend to be a minority. But I love them. And these, with nicely accented with red wood grips, are not particularly hard on the eyes.

Now me personally, I usually have 3 or 4 pocket knives that I carry around either with me, or nearby. I use them on a near daily basis, so I look for specific characteristics such as speed of operation, ease of one handed deployment, durability, and, of course, aesthetics, though the aesthetics criteria is a rather hit or mis affair. Today, the following three blades were on active rotation…

First:

Gerber Paraframe

Gerber Paraframe

This one usually ends up being my backup knife, for no good reason, save perhaps the fact that the design doesn’t really do anything for me. It seems too light in my hand. It opens fast though, so I guess that’s why I keep it around lol 🙂

Next up:

Kershaw Vapor

Kershaw Vapor

My second favorite carry knife. It usually swaps places with my favorite pocket knife for daily carry. Design is not bad, and it is a fairly quick, easy to open blade. It’s blade profile is not my favorite, I prefer a deep clip or westernized tanto point but It’s also got a nice balanced heft to it that I like, and is one of the more durable pocket knives I own.

Last, but certainly not least:

CRKT M16 10KZ

CRKT M16 10KZ

This folder from CRKT (Columbia River Knife and Tool) is perhaps my favorite daily carry knife. Oddly enough, I like it more for it’s aesthetics than it’s actual functionality because, ironically, though this has more features, it is the hardest and slowest one to use… Go figure.

The CRKT has a unique secondary locking mechanism that requires you to push a little red button before you can depress the liner lock to can close this it. Very safe, but a serious pain in the neck to learn how to use. It took me a week to get the hang of it, and even then, if I switch over to one of my other pocket knives, it takes me a second to remember that I don’t have to perform that awkward step before I can close it.

But I will say that it is a very cool knife. The Tanto style point actually makes point work easier, and the serrated section comes in very handy for cutting heavier items. But ultimately it is the fact that it’s black and cool looking that makes it my favorite, rather than any specific functionality, which I berate myself about on a daily basis every time I have to disengage that freaky little locking mechanism…

Timber Wolf Pocket Knives – [True Swords]

8 Responses to “Pocket Knives Galore”


  1. 1 Niccolo
    April 29, 2008 at 7:44 am

    Those are some sweet knives. The tavern dweller certainly looks like a damn nice piece of work – even if it is just off the shelf, knives like that are normally made to actually work.

    I only have one knife myself, just a swiss army one. Built like a tank and half the gadgets that the Inspector comes with (Honestly, I’m still trying to figure out what one of them does and I’ve owned the thing for four years) it is a nice thing. But not so impressive as those.

    It does sit well in my hand, though.

  2. 2 CapnPervy
    April 29, 2008 at 3:25 pm

    gotta love the pocket knives! i’m never without my leatherman. i can’t count how many times that thing has saved my ass.

  3. April 29, 2008 at 7:30 pm

    I also have a swiss army knife. Almost ridiculous how much stuff they cram into the thing. Had it for going on… oohhh 15 years now? And everything still works. Flawlessly. No play, no loose bits, nothing. The pen is gone (ran out of ink, and got lost) as are the small tweezers, but all else is in amazingly good condition. And this is with me wearing and using it almost daily for about 7 of those 15 years. I don’t wear it now, more because it’s kinda big, and I have better versions of the tools it has in easily accessible places, but it still sits on my desk, ready for action, even as I type… It’s an amazing little piece of engineering…

  4. 4 ladyofspiders
    April 29, 2008 at 11:57 pm

    I quite litteraly have a bag of pocket knives on the floor next to my bed which I have collected over the years, but than I moved away from pocket knives and moved more into collecting mideval weaponary.

  5. April 30, 2008 at 6:16 pm

    A bag of pocket knives?? Sheesh! Kind of a little overkill don’tcha think? LOL I’m reporting you to the NSPCP… For the neglect of your various pocket knives… 😛

  6. 6 ladyofspiders
    April 30, 2008 at 9:52 pm

    LOL yeah it probably is and well I have a wide varity. I think I even have a pocket knife that is shaped like a fish.

  7. 7 Brad
    May 3, 2008 at 7:46 pm

    Here’s a few pocket knives that might catch your interest.

    ToolLogic Firesteel Knife
    [http://www.thinkgeek.com/gadgets/tools/7f02/]

    Van Hoy Snap Lock 2
    [http://www.thinkgeek.com/gadgets/tools/7c27/]

    Swiss-Tech Utili-Key 6-in-1 Tool
    [http://www.thinkgeek.com/gadgets/tools/6d98/]

    Giant Swiss Army Knife
    [http://www.thinkgeek.com/gadgets/tools/8b97/]

    I admit the last one is absurdly huge AND pricey, but it IS cool how much stuff they crammed in there though. Plus, it’s must for any Swiss Army collector.

  8. May 3, 2008 at 11:58 pm

    Egads!! that giant swiss army knife is ludicrous… You kinda leave the realm of practical usage like around 30 tools…


Leave a Reply

April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Subscribe The Dark Realm!

Add to My AOL

