19
Apr
08

A Narcissistic Battle Spear…

I don’t post a whole lot about spears, not because they aren’t cool, but more because I don’t run into many that I find particularly remarkable. There are a lot of different spear designs, but i keep running into the same old ones I’ve seen before. But then there are those that literally jump up an down saying “Look at me! Look at me! Look at me!”:

Warrior Blood Lust Battle Spear

Warrior Blood Lust Battle Spear

[view full size]

Now this particular weapon caught my eye for several reasons. First, it’s design is actually somewhat difficult to classify. Calling this a spear… well… it’s quite a bit of a stretch. Actually it’s quite a large stretch. In fact, I highly doubt it’s spear heritage. It seems a little lacking in ex”pear”ience, as it were… (pun intended or not, you choose 😛 ) Actually it appears to have more in common with a melee axe than a spear…

I mean for one thing, this is rather short for a spear. At 18″ It’s actually the perfect length for a melee axe. And then look at the head. While there is a large point that could pass for a spear tip, the most dominant design feature appears to be the uncannily axe-like crescent blade affixed to the head, with the double sharpened points aft of that.

And then theres the… *cough* tassels…? Err… Removable tassels actually… yeah… Now in a real spear, the tassels would be made of some lighter material, and would be wrapped directly behind the head of the spear to redirect wayward blood, from your average freshly perforated foe, off the spear head and away from the grip. On this weapon, they have taken up residence on the pommel… More like a dark pom-pom than a spear…

To be totally honest, I think this weapon is really an melee axe with self esteem issues… Hence the tassels. And referring to itself as a “spear” when, in reality it’s a small melee axe… And then there’s the heavily testosterone laden name: “Warrior Blood Lust Battle Spear”… yeah… And the kicker is, I never thought that there was anything wrong with being a simple melee axe. They are pretty lethal in their own right…

Perhaps it’s designer was trying to compensate for other shortcomings? I dunno, I’m just idly speculating here… But I’m just saying… You know…? Or am I being too harsh…?

Naaaaah… Definitely some issues there… 🙂

Warrior Blood Lust Battle Spear – [True Swords]

10 Responses to “A Narcissistic Battle Spear…”


  1. 1 Sam
    April 19, 2008 at 10:24 pm

    I could see the tassels helping to stabilize it in flight but that awkward secondary blade would ruin the flight characteristics. I have to say I agree with you on this weapon. Also, I wonder how well that axe blade would resist turning seeing as it looks like it’s simply riveted on each side of a circular handle.

  2. April 21, 2008 at 1:29 am

    Good point. IF this had been a spear, the tassels might have added to it’s stability in flight. However this is just too short to be a throwing spear, and is not really designed like a fighting spear either… And now that you mention it, no, the blades aren’t affixed to the shaft in any way that would make it an even half decent melee weapon… This weapon is full of phail… LOL

  3. 3 Sam
    April 21, 2008 at 10:49 pm

    I think I’ve figured out the purpose of this weapon, it’s what you give your enemy in a fight to the death.

  4. 4 ladyofspiders
    April 22, 2008 at 12:26 am

    LOL when I first saw this, I thought it was the ultimate witches broom

  5. April 22, 2008 at 5:21 pm

    LOL!!! You all are cracking me up over here!! I’ll have to make a mental note, the next time I’m in a no holds barred, to the death, underground Cage Fight, I’ll have to bribe the armorer to make sure that my opponent is armed only with this Ultimate Witches Broom… ROFL!!!

  6. 6 ladyofspiders
    April 22, 2008 at 11:24 pm

    LOL

  7. 7 Brad
    May 3, 2008 at 5:41 pm

    I recognize the overall design. The upper part is basically a bastardized/mutialted Chinese Halberd, while the lower part is obviously a cat of nine tails. Interesting combination considering how short the shaft is and the ability to unscrew the two pieces.

    I can see the strips of the cat of nine tails being used to temporarily blind an opponent by slashing it across their eyes, and then either just chop then or stab them with the various blades, but they the two are linked pommel to pommel is terrible really unless you just keep them screwed together before fighting or while transporting it. The cat of nine tails could also be used to temporarily entangle an opponent’s weapon or wrist in a sort of web of leather strips.

    Essentially though I’d rate this design overall as next to useless on an actual battlefield; the cat of nine tails thing is NOT something you’d want as your offhand weapon in a battle. It cannot parry or really do any damage except to sting your opponent and piss them off royally. the axe/halberd part looks pretty nice though. I COULD see this being used in a sort of gladiator battle or one on one fight though. But against multiple opponents I’d rate it as nearly useless.

  8. 8 MoZZA
    September 16, 2008 at 11:34 am

    i like it may require some “darkening” and removal of these “tassels” and perhaps a lerger crescent it would pretty much make me happy

  9. September 17, 2008 at 11:39 pm

    Yeah… That’s what i’m thinking… Single shaft, maybe a bit longer, with a proper grip, not that “cat o nine tails” nonsense… that might make a good melee weapon…

  10. 10 Vicis
    February 5, 2009 at 12:34 am

    Ooh! Ooh! I know! It’s the bastard child of a spear, a broom, and a hermaphroditic ceremonial axe three-way.

    I think you may be able to actually sweep with that thing.

    Would flipping the axe blade around so the crescent edge is facing out work better? I keep picturing some poor fool trying to use this and ending up getting the lower blade stuck on something. . .

    As for the cat-o-nine tails thing, wouldn’t swinging that thing with the tassels make it more likely to blind *yourself* than your opponent?


Leave a Reply

April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Subscribe The Dark Realm!

Add to My AOL

