13
Apr
08

What in the world…?

Welcome to the latest edition of Phyreblades “What is this?” where you get to guess what the featured weapon of the day is. No, you don’t win anything, besides perhaps a kudos from yours truly, but that shouldn’t matter, after all the thrill of the game should be good enough for you right? Right? Right? Whut…? Spoilsports…

MysteryBlade

[view full size]

OK, so now we get to the fun part! Multiple choice questions!

So “What is this?” Is it a:

  • A. Ghost Wing Moth Blade.
  • B. Fantasy Spider Moth Knife.
  • C. Flying Spider Blade.
  • D. Dual Blade Black Hornet.
  • E. Fantasy Tarantula Scimitar.
  • E. None of the above.

Not much else to do but say this is perhaps one of the freakiest blades I’ve ever come across. Basically what looks like an insect abdomen attached to all manner of curvy, damascus steel looking blade things. Pretty interesting. And probably equally useless. OK now get to the guessing!! I’ll post the correct answer in my next post. ๐Ÿ™‚

What? Yeah, yeah, yeah, OK, so this blade has some arbitrary name, and I have given you no hints. Ok, just to be fair, I’ll give you one hint. The genus (scientific name) of the one of the more popular varieties of the correct insect this is supposed to be is the same as the name of a very popular classic Italian motor scooter company. Yes. What? I agree. That doesn’t help much. More work. Uh huh. I’m officially a bastige. I know. ๐Ÿ˜›

Whut? Fine. I’ll admit it. I’m tired. I had a busy week, and spent most of today catching up on paperwork. So I’ve opted to make a lazy post. And torture everyone else in the process. Sue me…
๐Ÿ˜›

OK so I’m back again with the winner of this here contest, and the winner is… LoneWolf23k!!

Congratulations!! You have not only won nothing, but proven to the world that you are more of a nerd than I!! ๐Ÿ˜› The correct answer is D. Dual Blade Black Hornet. Thank you for making my day! ๐Ÿ˜€

And now the explanation of the hint, for those of you who were wondering. The well known Italian motor scooter I was referring to is in fact the venerable Vespa. Vespa also happens to be the genus of the North American Hornet Vespa Crabro. And as D was the only option that made reference to a hornet, it r teh win.

Now you may tell your friends: “Did you know that Vespa, the name of the prestigious old Italian Motor Scooter company, is the same as the genus of a North American wasp? And that there is a funky wonky blade called the Dual Blade Black Hornet that is like totally impractical? Yes. It’s true. I know because of my learnings.” It would sound totally cool… Seriously. Try it. It’ll totally make you sound like the coolest nerd on the block. Unless you are a dork. In which case the cool nerd affect won’t help you. Sorry.

Dual Blade Black Hornet – [Realm Collections]

9 Responses to “What in the world…?”


  1. 1 ladyofspiders
    April 13, 2008 at 11:29 pm

    Well I opt for option F

    Totoally Awsome Metallic Spider of Death

  2. 2 LoneWolf23k
    April 14, 2008 at 2:35 pm

    I call D. Dual Blade Black Hornet, based on the hint given.

  3. April 15, 2008 at 12:20 am

    @LadyofSpiders
    Trust you to create a new option with your own name… I tell ya… Your teachers must have loved you in school… LOL ๐Ÿ˜€

    @LoneWolf23K
    Congrats for winning the quiz. I have an imaginary box full of invisible Win on its way to you in the mail. Don’t use it all in one place… ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. 4 ladyofspiders
    April 16, 2008 at 9:52 am

    LOL of course, what fun would it be to pick one of the names already listed.

  5. April 16, 2008 at 11:18 pm

    LOL Of course it’s more fun to pick something that isn’t on the list. That’s not the point. The point was I was actually trying to make you all join me in my misery, and you refused to play along… Ya Spoilsport… ๐Ÿ˜›

  6. 6 ladyofspiders
    April 18, 2008 at 10:00 am

    *Grins* You know thats way you love me

  7. April 19, 2008 at 12:16 am

    LOL Indeed… You nonconformist types certainly make life more interesting… ๐Ÿ™‚ Not that I’m necessarily the conformist role model, but… ๐Ÿ˜›

  8. 8 Niccolo
    April 28, 2008 at 6:48 am

    Wow. That is the singularly most useless weapon I have ever seen. And I used to duel with Ninak. (She fought with spoons)

    Actually… if you took off the handle and shoved in a metre or so of wood/other suitable material, it could be a pretty serviceable fantasy axe. ‘Cause that’s what it looks like, really. An axe suffering from dwarfism.

  9. April 29, 2008 at 7:11 pm

    LOL don’t knock the spoon! Spoons can be deadly! Have you ever had your heart cut out with a spoon? I hear it’s very painful… SPOOOOON!!!


Leave a Reply

April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Subscribe The Dark Realm!

Add to My AOL

