07
Apr
08

Now THIS is a knife…

Some of you may remember a scene from the movie “Crocodile Dundee” where the protagonist, Mick Dundee and his love interest Sue, are confronted by a switchblade wielding thug an his friends. His lady friend, understandably scared, asks Mick to give up his wallet. Looking rather amused at the muggers diminutive blade, he starts to chuckle, saying “That’s not a knife…” And then, pulling out a great big honking bowie knife he says… “Now That’s a knife!” at which point he begins slicing up the muggers jacket with it’s razor sharp blade. Of course at this point the mugger and his faithful buddies begin to see reason and flee for their lives…

That scene is perhaps my favorite part of the whole movie. Both for Mick Dundees nonchalant attitude throughout the encounter, as well as the humongous blade he carried with him. A bowie knife. Much like this one:

Big Bowie Peacemaker

Big Bowie Peacemaker

[view full size]

Now when I saw this blade, (and the name) that scene from Crocodile Dundee was the first thing that popped into my head. Both because big ol bowie knives are cool, and also because, in the right hands, they can definitely be used as peacmakers, as Mick Dundee aptly demonstrated… lol…

I will admit, that I thought Micks blade was a lot more aesthetically pleasing than this one, but, I thought I’d post this one just for the sheer cool factor of posting a big, well constructed blade. This is a full tang bowie, which would make it super strong, and on this bowie, the tang extends past the scales, which would make it a great impact tool, and is slotted to provide an attachment point for a lanyard, should you of a mind to need one, or just for opening your beers while in the outback…

The blade itself is fairly simple, with a thick spine with a milled depression in the spine just above the grip for added thumb grip and support, and a drop point. Unlike a traditional bowie, this blade does not have the simple straight cross guard, but rather a small finger guard milled into the blade profile. And finally the simple scales are pinned to the full tang with a set of brass pins, with two smaller pins between, and ten more pins used in a five point star pattern around each main pin for both additional support and aesthetic style.

All in all a great bowie knife. Great for chopping, cutting and even throwing, should you be so brave. In fact, if you are gonna carry a bowie, might as well learn how to throw one. His skill with his bowie knife saved Mick Dundee’s hide on quite a few occasions… 🙂

Big Bowie Peacemaker – [True Swords]

9 Responses to “Now THIS is a knife…”


  1. 1 ladyofspiders
    April 7, 2008 at 9:28 am

    I love the Dundee movies, and inded that was my faveoirte scene. I loved it. In a fact a part of me, has always seceretly wished I would get an oppertunity to use that line.

  2. April 7, 2008 at 9:49 pm

    LOL Yeah, I’m sure we all would love to say those lines. I’d probably do it with an Aussie accent just for proper effect 😛

    Actually I’d prolly just try to talk my way out of it. With an Aussie accent. I mean seriously, how can you say no to an Aussie accent… And a big bowie knife… 😀

  3. 3 ladyofspiders
    April 7, 2008 at 10:59 pm

    Hahaha

  4. April 9, 2008 at 10:06 pm

    I always liked that line from Crocidile Dundee as well. Cool looking knife mate, but I’ll bet Case has one out right now that’s nicer………..

  5. April 9, 2008 at 11:47 pm

    I certainly wouldn’t bet against you on that one… LOL Case has some sweet bowies… 😉

  6. 6 Niccolo
    April 28, 2008 at 6:43 am

    >_> I don’t own a bowie knife… and I’m an Australian… a crime! Hahahaha.

    Mind you, if you’re going to use the ocker Aussie (Croc Dundee’s accent) to get out of a knife-fight, you might wanna look the part too…

  7. April 29, 2008 at 7:10 pm

    Errrm… How exactly do I “look” the part…

  8. 8 Niccolo
    April 30, 2008 at 12:41 am

    Umm… Croc Dundee makes for good pointers. Steve Irwin too, just sans the barb. If the mugger is an Aussie he will definitely gut you then.

  9. April 30, 2008 at 6:18 pm

    LOL yeah, no, I don’t think I’ll be relying on an Aussie accent against an Aussie mugger… He’s probably laugh and then try to stick me…


Leave a Reply

April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Subscribe The Dark Realm!

Add to My AOL

