05
Apr
08

A Barbarian Sword…

I’ve noticed that there are a lot of blade designers who like to call their weapons “Barbarian” weapons. What is perhaps most interesting is that, to my knowledge, there are no predefined criteria for determining how barbary a weapon is. So how they decide which weapons are “barbaric” and which ones are “civilized” is beyond me. But then again, I am but a lowly blogger of  the occasional barbarian weapon:

Barbarian Sword

Barbarian Sword

[view full size]

Now In this particular case, I can see, a little bit, why one might refer to this sword as barbaric. On the surface, it does look kind of simple. But in reality the design is as elegant as any other I have seen, so it would be an assessment based on ignorance. Indeed, this sword has some very attractive elements.

The finish, for instance, is actually an acid etched damascus steel pattern. One of my favorite. Granted it’s a cheap way to finish a non damascus blade, but it still looks good. And then the blade profile. Very cool. a simple but interesting design, with a large ricasso, heralded by two smaller vertices just aft of the blade, and a smaller point on the spine.

All of this leading into a mildly curved black leather wrapped handle, and terminating in an unusually shaped pommel. I suppose the combination of simple lines and unusual accents is what i find so interesting about this sword. It just kind of quietly menacing. Not loud and deliciously evil looking. And not even particularly barbaric. Just subtly sinister.

And I can respect that.

Barbarian Sword – [All things Medieval]

12 Responses to “A Barbarian Sword…”


  1. 1 ladyofspiders
    April 7, 2008 at 9:31 am

    This is a freaking sweet blade

  2. April 7, 2008 at 9:50 pm

    Yes. And not really barbaric at all. Those freaking sales people are dirty rotten liars…

  3. 3 MoZZA
    August 25, 2008 at 5:01 pm

    reminds me of ither legolas’ fighting knives crossed with an orc/goblin sword … my kind style!

  4. August 27, 2008 at 12:20 am

    I dunno. I like the subtleties of this design but I think the elven swords had a lot more style and character…

  5. 5 MoZZA
    September 16, 2008 at 11:41 am

    well, yes but it all comes down to opinion i guess

  6. September 17, 2008 at 11:42 pm

    Indeed… Can’t argue with that… 😉

  7. 7 Monstermetalhead
    April 11, 2009 at 12:43 pm

    That blade is considered Barbaric because it is a single edged short sword with a thicker back portion for strength and a weight advantage, but yes alot of websites have things labeled barbarian thats are clearly not.

  8. April 11, 2009 at 1:22 pm

    @Monstermetalhead
    Not be contrary, but a single edged short sword with a sturdy spine does *not* a barbarian sword make. There are many sword styles that fit that description. There are, for instance, many versions of Chinese War sword that fit the description you describe much better than this sword does, and I would hardly call them Barbaric.
    The only thing that is *maybe* barbaric about this sword is it’s aesthetic, which Mozza aptly described as a cross between an Elven and Orc blade… But even then, only the Uruk-Hai used swords that I would consider legitimately barbaric…

  9. 9 cleaver_fang
    April 12, 2009 at 5:41 pm

    This is just my opinion,but i think that a barbarian sword or any weapon of that type would be rough and crude looking. Something they just took from the forge and sharpened it right after it cooled, no polishing or buffing just quench, sharpen, and there you go

  10. April 12, 2009 at 9:12 pm

    I suppose that would be a good general description of a “Barbaric” sword, though I can’t also help but ask myself whether a barbarian sword refers to the people who made them or the design of the sword itself. There are some otherwise crude sword designs that appear quite beautiful to me… And beautiful looking weapons that seem barbaric in design… Kind of blurs my perception of what a barbaric weapon is… 🙂

  11. 11 Ass-ass-in
    April 15, 2009 at 9:46 pm

    i wouldent consider this a very “barbaric” sword, but thats just me. i think barbaric is a longsword stained with the blood of many wars, chips in it bla bla bla etc… but yea nice sword >.> ^-^

  12. April 30, 2009 at 11:30 pm

    Actually I think I’d call that an old, worn, “dirty” sword, but hey… 🙂


Leave a Reply

April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Subscribe The Dark Realm!

Add to My AOL

