30
Mar
08

A Uniquely Ornate Dragon Sword…

Without a doubt, I’ve blogged about my fair share of Dragon swords in the past.  Some were deserving of the title, but most were not. But every now and then I run into a design that is unique and exceptional. And today I just so happen to have run across such a weapon.

Ornate Medieval Dragon Sword

Ornate Medieval Dragon Sword
[view full size]

Now this sword is unique in more than a couple respects. Take the blade for instance. It seems to be a cross between a Japanese and European design. It is not quite as curved as a Japanese Katana, however it doesn’t appear to be completely straight either. It carries a three quarter length fuller, without which I might easily have taken this blade for a Japanese make, based on the profile of the blade point, which looks very stereotypically Japanese. If I had to classify it I’d say it was a Japanese saber, though I’d ask that you not quote me on that… 🙂

But an even more interesting aspect of the design is how the dragon theme is implemented. The scabbard employs the liberal use of a dragon coiled around the sheath as the scabbard end cap and the attachment points for chain belt hanger. Bu what is perhaps the most interesting feature on the sword is the dragon hilt design.

Unlike most other dragon swords that feature a dragon “motif” the hilt of this weapon makes extensive use of a dragon’s anatomy, rearranging it to fit the practical needs of the hilts design, rather than simply decorating a traditional design with a dragon motif.

On this weapon, just below the ricasso, you can see that the dragons wings and forelimbs have been extended to form a guard, with the dragon facing the direction of the blade. In fact the blade seems to spring from the dragons chest. Continuing down you can see that the body of the dragon is also the grip, and not content to stop there, the designers curved the ridged scaly tail of the dragon back forwards to over the grip, stopping  just in front of the outstretched front limbs to form a knuckle guard.

While I will admit to having seen a similar knife arrangement with the blade coming out of the dragons mouth, and the front limbs forming a crude guard, I don’t think I have ever seen this done in combination with outspread dragons wings forming a large guard in this way before.

All and all, quite an engaging design, worthy of the Dragon moniker…

Ornate Medieval Dragon Sword – [Tulip Collectibles]

12 Responses to “A Uniquely Ornate Dragon Sword…”


  1. 1 ladyofspiders
    March 30, 2008 at 8:28 pm

    The blade and the sheath look awsome, but the hilt seems like it would be dreadfully unwieldy

  2. April 1, 2008 at 1:56 am

    Yeah, it’s certainly not the kind of thing I’d take into a battle, that’s for sure, wrong grip material, an unusual shape, but it’s not entirely out of left field. It isn’t that great a departure from a basket hilt or even the large square tsuba used on a ninjato… it would be interesting to see how it would feel with a proper grip on it…

  3. 3 Erick
    August 15, 2008 at 10:46 pm

    i just cant belive what im seing!!! thats my sword! i didnt think it will be on the internet. i was only googling dragon swords but i didnt expect that i find my sword here.

    if u want to talk more or know more about it, add me. dragonius_91@hotmail.com

    thanks man i didnt know what kind of sword it was but i knew it was little like a katana. and now I have more information about it, thank u.

    I can show the sword on pictures or the webcam. if u wondering if its a fake, then your wrong. its real. add me if u wanna see it.

    I live in sweden by the way.

    bye, and thanks alot.

  4. August 17, 2008 at 7:45 pm

    Hey Erick,
    Thanks for posting! When you say “That’s my sword” what exactly do you mean? Are you the designer?

    Thanks!

  5. 5 Erick
    August 18, 2008 at 12:36 pm

    sorry, my english is little bad when I write fast. no I´m not the designer. I bought the sword a few days ago. I just didnt expect to see a picture with the same sword on the Internet. I am a designer. I design swords and clothes but I keep it for myself.

  6. August 18, 2008 at 9:19 pm

    Understood, no problems… Interesting swords tend to find my site pretty quickly… 🙂

  7. 7 shadowstalker
    August 19, 2008 at 4:50 am

    wow this is a beauty of a sword. what metal is the handel of the sword made from looks like silver or pewter. my god i would like to see one of them above myt fire place or on my wall

  8. August 19, 2008 at 12:27 pm

    Yeah, this is a fairly ornate and unique design. In fact a little over the top for my tastes, but I thought it too interesting to pass up…

  9. 9 Erick
    August 22, 2008 at 9:31 am

    Well. the handel is not silver thats for sure:P.

  10. August 25, 2008 at 2:08 am

    Yep, given it’s price, a silver grip is highly unlikely… 🙂

  11. 11 Crosseyes
    August 25, 2008 at 9:51 am

    Wow, designing swords and clothes that’s an… interesting combination lol

    at this point I’m even starting to doubt that it’s PAINTED the color silver.

    A little more like foghat gray to me 😀
    Crosseyes
    X_X


Leave a Reply

March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Subscribe The Dark Realm!

Add to My AOL

