26
Mar
08

Blades of Chaos…

A reader recently asked where to find replicas of Kratos’ swords from the video game God of War. I found a few, but found them all rather disappointing. But I thought I’d talk about a couple of them, and whine, as usual, about how the replica sword industry is a source of constant disappointment to yours truly.

Now before I begin my rant, I should mention that these are both wall hangers that were never intended to be used for anything more vigorous than cutting a rebellious watermelon in half. And even though I doubt either would endure the watermelons retribution very well, I’m going to try and be objective about it, and rank their “goodness” based on aesthetics alone, as opposed to their functionality or durability, like I usually do. Which probably sucks anyway. 😛 .

So without further ado, here’s my verdict:… Epic Phail.

What? Was that too quick? Insufficient deliberation? I beg to differ. What!? You’re wanna argue with me about it? Fine. I’ll explain why they phail. But you better put some coffee on. Don’t say I didn’t warn you…

Following are the two best of breed (IMHO) of the replicas in question:

Kratos’ Blade of Chaos – Large

Kratos Blades of Chaos - large
[view full size]

This first sword is a full size version of the blade. I believe this would actually be close to the correct length of the blade, except the profile is completely wrong. Too skinny, not pointy enough and not thick enough (I’ll talk about this in more detail later).

Kratos’ Blade of Chaos – Small

Kratos Blades of Chaos - Small
[view full size]

Now this blade is much better looking. It has a much more accurate blade profile, with properly (relatively speaking) pronounced points… But it’s waaaay too short. Seriously.

What is perhaps the most frustrating aspect of this is that both of these are close enough to perfect that had the designers of both put their heads together, they *might* have come up with a decent replica. But nooooooo, that would be toooo easy…

To illustrate my point (and set up for my rant), I thought I’d show you a crop from of one of the wallpapers I found for the game. This is what the Blades of Chaos are supposed to look like:

Kratos’ Blades of Chaos – God of War

Kratos Blades of Chaos - God of War
[view full size]

See there? Wicked little slabs of steel ain’t they… 😀 Now while it is readily apparent that the video game versions are much more sinister looking than the replicas, it may not be obvious exactly why. So let me explain a little bit. It’s all about thickness, points and edges.

If you look closely, you’ll notice that the video game version is much pointier. But it’s points are not simply a product of the blade profile. These swords are not especially long, but to be proportionally accurate IRL, these swords would actually have to be very thick, I’d guess somewhere in the region of 2″ – 3″ thick. Conservatively. Probably more. Yes. Rather massive slabs of steel. But back to the (my) point.

Which is that, based on the pic, (as assuming the blades are identical, and symmetrical along the spine) then what we have here is a really, really thick blade, thick enough that the edge bevel for each side can still be relatively steep in relation to the flat of the blade. Because of this edge geometry, the points are enhanced because they create a much sharper angle in relation to the flat of the blade, and to the adjacent edges. This, in combination with a quite justifiably evil blade profile in it’s own right, is what gives the edge its merciless appearance.

Hopefully now that you understand the mechanics of this particular edge style, it should be easier to see where the replicas fail.

The first blade is long enough, and has the right number of points, however the point transitions of the blade profile are not sufficiently sharp, the acutely angled edge profile does not appear to have been used, and the gauge of steel used does not appear to be thick enough to effectively employ the acute edge effect in any distinctive way anyway. In other words: It is an Epic Phail.

The second sword fares much better. The steel is a little thicker gauge, the blade profile is much closer to the original and there is an obvious attempt to replicate the sharp angles of the edge seen on the original. However what should have been sharp adjacent edge transitions have been smoothed over, completely killing the effect, and what’s more, the blade is waaay too short. So while it is not quite an epic phail, it isn’t quite the sword it could have been.

It’s a shame really, perhaps one of these days, I’ll get up off mah great beeg bahookeh and actually make some accurate replicas myself instead of just talking about it… Perhaps I’m being unfair. Maybe I should quite playing armchair sword critic until I start making my own swords again…

.

.

.

.

BWAAAA HA HA HA HA HA…. Naaaaaah… Don’t think so…

8 Responses to “Blades of Chaos…”


  1. 1 ladyofspiders
    March 27, 2008 at 4:59 pm

    The titile Blades of Chaos caught my eye, I was a bit dissapointed by the restult. I have never played the game, but I cannot say that aesthetically these blades appeal to me.

  2. March 27, 2008 at 11:49 pm

    LOL yeah, I apologize, I like to tease a little in my titles… they promise what I’d like the weapon to be, and not necessarily what it is… But every now and then I have a few really good weapons… 🙂

    And yeah the replicas are a general disappointment all around. Actually even the original game is a little over the top for me. If it could be toned down, and an exact replica made of that, i’d be all kinds of stoked… 🙂

  3. 3 Phoenix
    September 4, 2008 at 11:46 am

    Actually the first one is way too long, because if you actually pay attention to the possible height of the character and the length of his blades, his swords aren’t more than 3 feet long like the ones for sale. Kratos would only be around 5’9″-6’2″ and his swords are definitely less than half his height. The shorter swords are around the right size, but they just aren’t wide enough, or thick enough (like you said earlier), and of course the handles are all wrong.

  4. 4 Niccolo
    September 4, 2008 at 6:56 pm

    Phoenix, he TOWERS over normal people… he must be at least six and a half feet, if not a rounded-out seven foot.

  5. September 4, 2008 at 10:25 pm

    @Phoenix
    Well you raise a good question. I haven’t played the game but based on some of the videos, I thought he was a pretty big guy. But I just went back and looked at a few more videos and now I’m not so sure…

    @Niccolo
    How did you come by your estimate?

  6. 6 Niccolo
    September 5, 2008 at 4:13 am

    Well, I judged it off the fact that most of the soldiers seem to reach up to his shoulder, up until he turns them into a bloody mess anyway.

  7. September 6, 2008 at 12:22 am

    Hmm… I couldn’t find any vids of him fighting anything other than monsters, but I did find this pic:

    gIf his opponent is of average height then it would appear that Kratos is a *wee bit* larger than your average human…

    Given this and Niccolos’ observation, i’m going to go with the longer blade… Unless anyone has some better pics or vids that give a better perspective on Kratos height…

  8. 8 BigDaddyShank
    March 15, 2009 at 4:49 pm

    now i remember seeing a replica of the blades of chaos a while back and they looked amazing and i cant find them all of the replicas i can find are plain and boring no color and a boring look if any of you ever played the game the blades look sweet they have this sweet color to the blade and handle but the replicas are disapponting if seen a energy sword replica and they mixed this thing with the steel so when light hit it it would change the colors of an energy sword now if someone was to do that with the blades and acually scaled them right it would be amazing but these are a dissapointment and if anyone finds the replica im talkin about tell me were at Dominick_Shank@yahoo.com because as a huge fan of the game owning these swords would be amazing.


Leave a Reply

March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Subscribe The Dark Realm!

Add to My AOL

