22
Mar
08

A Funky Mini-Scimitar…

Obviously I’ve come across my share of funky looking knives, but every now and then encounter a blade that I both love and hate at the same time. Actually, that bipolar reaction occurs more often than I’d like to admit. But in this case I think it is justified. Supporting my plea of “Not Bipolar” I submit, for your review, Exhibit A:

Double Cobra Stinger

Double Cobra Stinger
[view full size]

OK, I’m the “bad news first” kinda guy, so I’m gonna jump right into what I dislike about this blade. And I can sum it all up in two words: “Bad Hilt”. In essence, the guard, grip, pommel, et al., while unique and “out there” and all that, just kinda… Sucks. Yeah. That would be the technical term for it. Epic Suckage. And here’s why.

First, I like to see usability in my weapons. And frankly, that grip ain’t doin’ it for me. Not with that kinda short sharp curved handle. Now if I had tentacles for fingers instead of hands, then yes, maybe, this might be a workable weapon. But since I’m stuck with a pair of somewhat beefy hands, (you might even call me ham fisted, but I wouldn’t recommend it.) this would be a no-go.

And then there’s the whole “double cobra” guard dealio. Basically, I don’t like it. I can’t tell you why exactly, but there it is. Maybe the guard is too dynamic, and the transition from guard to snake too sharp. Let see. Perhaps if they smoothed it out more it would… Hmmm… Nope… I still don’t like it. *sigh* Too bad.

But let’s get to the stuff I do like about this weapon. That, can incidentally, also be summed up in two words: “Blade Profile”. Uh huh. I luuurve it!!! From the title of this post it should be apparent that this blade follows very closely the shape of a large scimitar, except scaled down a tad. The deeply curved edge of the black blade is simply sweet.

I’d also add that the little scorpion stinger tail at the pommel was a nice touch. Notwithstanding the fact that it is totally out of theme with the rest of the blade, had the rest of the hilt been simpler, non snake focused, and more ergonomically designed, I think it might have made a nice additional touch.

BTW, blade designers, please note: mixing animal and insect anatomy is the perfect recipe for ending up with silly names like “Cobra stinger”. Seriously. Do you find a Cobras fangs insufficiently intimidating that you have to add a scorpion stinger? Perhaps I’m being a little persnickety about stupid details on account of my not liking the design, but sheesh!

But, getting back on topic, the lines of the spine, the ricasso, the notches rear of the ricasso, are very nicely done, and even the transition bit between the ricasso and the guard are not bad. The etching in the black blade was unnecessary in my opinion, but is not sufficiently distracting to be any great detriment, and actually, for once, adds a little positive character to the blade.

All in all, the blade is absolutely where it’s at with this weapon. Real pity about the hilt…

Double Cobra Stinger – [True Swords]

3 Responses to “A Funky Mini-Scimitar…”


  1. 1 ladyofspiders
    March 22, 2008 at 12:27 pm

    I have to agree with you on this one, despite the fact that it is wholly dysfuntional there is still something rather attractive and appealing about this blade

  2. March 22, 2008 at 11:29 pm

    Indeed, It isn’t entirely bad looking. I’m not a big fan of the handle and the guard, but if they could have worked on the ergonomics even just a little, there would have been a lot I could have overlooked… At least on the last one I talked about with the unfeasibly curved grip, it had a very striking an attractive red scale pattern. This one… Meh…


Leave a Reply

March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Subscribe The Dark Realm!

Add to My AOL

