08
Mar
08

An Unlikely Pirate Sword… YAAAARRRRHHH!!!! :)

Ok, so I ran into this little shyster of a weapon yesterday, and thought it would make for an interesting post. It is yet another movie themed sword. The Movie? Pirates of the Caribbean! Aaaaarrr! The weapon? None other than the sword of Jack Sparrow, pirate extraordinaire:

Jack Sparrows Sword…

Yaaaarrrggghhh!

Jack Sparrows Pirate Sword
[view full size]

Aaarrrrrr…! OK, ok, ok I’ll stop with the yaaaaarrgghhs… LOL.

Now this is a pirates sword! Yes? … Actually, no. No it’s not.

Not that I like poking holes in Hollywood fallacies, but… Wait… no… Actually, to be honest, I love poking holes in Hollywood fictions… 🙂 But my point is, this is not the kind of weapon your average pirate might use. This sword is too long, too light and not sufficiently curved.

Yeah. Now I’ll bet you are wondering why a good pirates sword would need to meet the above three criteria. Well, being the snooty know-it-all that I am, I’m gonna tell you. In fact you can’t stop me! Yaaarr… eerrr… ahem… *crickets chirping*…

Whatever…

What I was gonna say is this: It’s simply a matter of space. Or the lack thereof. Aboard a ship, one of your major restraints would be a lack of “elbow room” as it were. In a battle, obviously, with a deck overflowing with bloodthirsty pirates, that deficiency would be compounded.

So your ideal sword would be one that could be swung in small spaces, with an equally localized cutting arc, but with a blade that also had some weight, so that you didn’t need so much space to generate lethal cuts. The weight of the sword could do some of the work for you…

In other words the ideal pirate sword would be… a short, heavy scimitar. Now we can see why pirates relied so heavily on the use of short, curved, broad/heavy cutlasses, and later on, cut down sabers… Neither of which categories the above sword falls into. In other words, the weapon above would be an epic fail in such a battlefield.

Now don’t get me wrong, this is a sweet sword. The dark, long, mildly upward sweeping blade would make for a reasonably good slashing weapon, and that wicked little point would allow thrusting attacks like a hot knife through warm butter… But it just ain’t a pirate sword, Jack… :p

Jack Sparrows Sword – [Realm Collections]

9 Responses to “An Unlikely Pirate Sword… YAAAARRRRHHH!!!! :)”


  1. 1 ladyofspiders
    March 10, 2008 at 10:50 pm

    When I first saw this, I got really excited at first, as the mention of Pirates had quite peeked my interest, but than upon seeing the blade I was quite dissapointed. Though I loved the movie, at the mention of pirates I was hoping for one of my personal faveorites, the cutlass. But alas I should of known as you did say unlikely pirates sowrd.

  2. March 12, 2008 at 12:43 am

    Nope. No cutlass. Seriously. A pirate sword that is not a cutlass. Not that it’s entirely unheard of but, well, this ranks up there with “fantasy” knives that look like Axes and stuff… Bah humbug…

  3. 3 Niccolo
    April 28, 2008 at 6:11 am

    Well… maybe it’s a sabre that Jack just never got around to cutting down, hmm?

  4. April 29, 2008 at 6:55 pm

    Could be… Though I think jack would be too lazy for all that work… LOL

  5. 5 Ravenwood
    May 28, 2008 at 1:36 pm

    Perhaps that is the reason it never got cut down 🙂 lol

  6. May 29, 2008 at 12:42 am

    Indeed… LOL though I’m guessing he’d just use a shorter one, so he wouldn’t have to cut it down… 🙂 LOL

  7. 7 CaptianKay
    August 22, 2008 at 12:28 pm

    I agree completely with you. This isn’t a real pirate sword. I’ve been searching the web for a cheap pirate cutlass but I just cant find one. so I’m going to buy this on its only $53(including shipping & handling). If any one can find a cutlass at this price that is historically accurate please contact me at piratekay@yahoo.com Thank for the help!

  8. August 25, 2008 at 2:06 am

    Well I’ll keep an eye out, but at that price point, the chances of finding a good cutlass/saber is going be slim to none…

  9. 9 Captn Barbossa
    April 2, 2012 at 9:35 pm

    Aye… I have and run a blacksmith shop. I can make ye a real blade for a price. I have several that I’ve bought and many blades that I’ve made and not sold yet… Swordsmithing and blacksmithing go hand in hand.

    Captn


Leave a Reply

March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Subscribe The Dark Realm!

Add to My AOL

