04
Mar
08

A Galactic Gladiators Sword… NOT!

So a long while back I came across this sword and stuffed it in my archives for future review… Primarily because it was black and it had some cool qualities. I can’t remember exactly what particular qualities… Hmm… Lesse… Right! It was black. And pointy… Alrighty then. Let’s carry on shall we. Allow me to introduce:

The Galaxy Shocker.

Galaxy Shocker
[view full size]

Now here’s the thing. For reasons I cannot fathom. I am really on the fence about whether this sword is cool or not. Honestly. I’m at a loss. On the one hand I could say the blade has some nice clean lines, and the hilt is simple. I like that about this sword. But then you have that wierd pointy thing on the pommel, which kinda ruins the whole effect for me. If not for that, I’d really take a fancy to the simplicity of the design.

Or perhaps I’m just getting persnickety…

Galaxy Shocker  – [True Swords]

7 Responses to “A Galactic Gladiators Sword… NOT!”


  1. March 4, 2008 at 2:28 am

    I like it! Dark and scary looking…my kinda blade.

  2. 2 Sam
    March 4, 2008 at 2:01 pm

    The 3 part blood groove is cool looking, but I think would decrease the effectiveness of it, making it harder to remove the blade from your opponent’s body. Plus the whole chance of stabbing yourself with the 3 points sticking back at you. but other then that, a very nice sword.

  3. March 4, 2008 at 3:11 pm

    @Sinza
    Indeed it does have that dark and malevolent look to it. It is nice. I just thought the pommel was a bit too… Flashy? I dunno… LOL…

    @Sam
    I’ll let you in on a little secret. The fuller or blood groove (which sounds so much more sinister 🙂 ) really does nothing to ease the retrieval of a blade from an opponents body. It’s real purpose is twofold. To reduce weight and improve stiffness. Introducing a blood groove into a blade during it’s design allows you to make a stiffer sword for any given amount of metal.

    In the same way that a steel I-beam will be stiffer than a simple rectangular beam of the exact same cross sectional area, introducing a properly designed fuller also increases the stiffness of the blade, because you are relocating metal away from the low stress middle parts of the blade, where it is not needed so much, to the spine and blade of the weapon, which are the areas that encounter the greatest stresses during contact.

    However the key here is to relocate the metal, not remove it. This trick only works properly if the blade was designed to use a fuller to enhance stiffness. Grinding a fuller into a blade that was not designed for it may lighten it, but it will also weaken it.

    So yes, while the fullers on this sword are cool, I generally have issues with flat swords where the center has been ground, punched or cut out like this, because while it does make the blade lighter, it also introduces structural weaknesses. I usually don’t talk about it with swords that are obviously intended to be wall hangers, (mostly) but since you brought it up… 😀

  4. 4 ladyofspiders
    March 4, 2008 at 6:52 pm

    I think it is a pretty wicked cool sword, and hey, that pointy thing could come in handy if someone tried to sneak up behind you and you do not have enough time to turn all the way around.

  5. March 5, 2008 at 12:53 am

    LOL I dunno, they’d already have to be awfully close in order for that to work, and presumably, if they already had their (considerably longer) sword leveled at one of your precious vital organs, they could perforate you while remaining safely out of range, while you poked, in futility, at the air behind you, with the short pointy spikes… LOL…

    But then again I tend to look at such things in terms of worst case scenarios… ROFL…

  6. 6 Niccolo
    April 28, 2008 at 6:06 am

    Wait… that’s a sword? Blade-to-handle ratio makes it look sorta… dagger-ish. Or is it a bastard-style grip?

  7. April 29, 2008 at 6:54 pm

    LOL Yeah… the blade/handle ratio is kinda funky… but it still qualifies for short sword duty… I’ve seen weirder…


Leave a Reply

March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Subscribe The Dark Realm!

Add to My AOL

