19
Feb
08

A Killer Energy Sword

Today we venture yet again into the world of replica video game weapons, and a hobbyists interpretation of a weapon from the wildly popular video game HALO:

Energy Blade from HALO

Halo Energy Blade
[view full size]

Now obviously, this is not an energy blade. This is what the original energy blade in halo looked like:

HALO – Elite Covenant Energy Blade

Halo Elite Covenant Plasma Sword
[view full size]

A very interesting concept, in the game, the Energy Blade (AKA Plasma Sword) is formed from a coronal energy discharge of some sort that worked in a similar fashion to that of a light saber. Anything touching the edge would be instantly superheated, which made it the equivalent of a hot knife through butter, except that pretty much everything else was butter… But I digress.

Since we obviously have not the technology to replicate plasma blades (or light sabers for that matter), the enterprising replica maker decided to use good old steel. A rather large chunk of stainless steel, in fact,  polished to a mirror shine. So no, it may not be a plasma blade, but yes, this could be almost as lethal as the real thing, were it to actually exist. Here’s another shot of the handywork:

Halo Energy Blade

Halo Energy Blade
[view full size]

Boy, look at the shine on that baby. I tell ya, I really wish the commercial production replica houses would put this much energy into making quality replicas of game and movie blades. They might end up being more expensive, but they would be worth every penny…

Halo Energy Blade (Covenant Elite Plasma Sword) – [Lionhearts Realm]

13 Responses to “A Killer Energy Sword”


  1. February 19, 2008 at 2:09 am

    I use one every Friday morning…great weapon.
    I was wondering when it would be made as a replica, looks like a decent job.
    Wonder hoe it is to hold/use. Weight and balance would be interesting.
    Cool sword.

  2. February 19, 2008 at 4:05 pm

    You use an energy sword every Friday morning? OK Sinz man, either your job is even cooler than I originally thought (Robots AND Energy Swords? Awesome!), or there’s something you’re not telling me! 😀

    I actually hadn’t given much thought to how well balanced this design is, but the interesting thing about this sword is that most of its weight is concentrated close to the grip, so it should handle in a fairly neutral fashion, even though I’m betting it’s still gonna feel a little on the heavy side.

    Also because of that funky weight distribution, it’s center of percussion is going to be really close to the hilt, so it almost seems like it was designed to be a slashing/thrusting weapon with at medium to long range, and a chopping weapon at very close range. A rather interesting, if unusual combination. Though obviously, since this is supposed to be an energy weapon, I doubt the designers were thinking that far into it at the drafting table… 🙂

  3. February 22, 2008 at 2:52 am

    Just about every friday morning I head over to my buddies house and we destroy each other for 3 or 4 hours on Halo3. We’re just getting into making our own custom maps.
    Good times! Alway great to launch a rocket at your buddy or snipe him from long distance. We have a blast. Always finding new ways to blow shit up!

  4. February 22, 2008 at 2:55 am

    Oh yeah, I’m working on the robot right now. I’ll have to send you a pic…it’s nothing like ‘transformers’. Just a big machine, but it is a robotic welding machine and it is called a Romobot…but it dosen’t walk around.
    Sounds cool to say I work on a big robot though 🙂

  5. February 23, 2008 at 1:18 am

    Aaaahh… You play Halo eh? sweet… I haven’t played in the while, but then again, I never really got into it.

    But yeah, robots are cool, any kind of robot, even if it’s a disembodied robot arm in a constuction facility… LOL

  6. 6 tewesy
    March 31, 2008 at 12:48 am

    your a fuchead y dnt u just make it out out photonic protoplasmic energy like the real thng all you need is to contain the amount of energy that is produced by the sun then sum how keep a blob of plasma to the shape of the energy sword and let it react with the energy from the sun and u would have one. but no u had to make it out of metal like the dumb earthlings you are. but good job though i believe that our real energy swords would piss all over yours. lol and yes that is seriously wat u wud need to do to make one

  7. April 1, 2008 at 2:05 am

    LOL ummm… No. You wouldn’t need even a small fraction of the energy produced by the sun in order to create a plasma blade… I know because of my learnings. And I would have made a real one except the regulations and paperwork are just too much of a pain… So gimme a break OK?

  8. 8 Niccolo
    April 28, 2008 at 5:40 am

    O.o that was an interesting post by tewesy… should we tell him that producing a miniature sun about a foot away from us would be a little on the unhealthy side?

    Hmm. I think I have just found out what to do my PhD on. How to develop a tapering, directional magnetic field… Actually, scarily enough I am getting ideas on how to house the colossal amounts of energy already. (Yes, colossal… to superheat armour that fast, one needs it)

    >_> Is it bad to misuse my growing knowledge of physics for destruction?

    Am I asking the wrong crowd?

  9. April 29, 2008 at 6:44 pm

    I’d say you are definitely asking the wrong crowd… 😀

  10. 10 Niccolo
    April 30, 2008 at 7:08 am

    Hmm. I thought as much.

    Anyway… plasma is damnably hard to control. So. A system that works something like the katana/lightsabre hybrid of “No More Heroes” fame (since that circuit actually possesses the necessary components to be feasible – that being a _complete_ circuit) turned into a katar-style weapon.

    Feasible. Just costly. Plus I dunno whether I’d like 10,000 degree ionised gas right there in my hands.

    Okay, I’ll continue refining. Maybe my mag-field idea will help a little… magnetic charges affect charged particles… Hmmmm…

  11. 11 David
    June 18, 2008 at 11:44 pm

    Im not saying your wrong but Ive not seen in real life but Im quite sure that there is a way to form the plasma like that,considering one of the first death rays was plasma and created back in the 1800s

  12. June 20, 2008 at 4:59 pm

    @Niccolo
    I agree, the “No More Heroes” light saber is the first practical implementation of the idea I’ve seen in a while…

    @David
    I beg to differ. Plasma is not at all easy to control. In small instruments yes, sure. But for a large, Katana sized weapon? Not that easy.

    And where did you hear about plasma death rays in the 1800s? You do realize that they were still using muskets and crossbows in the 1800s right? Plasma death rays…? I don’t think so 😛

  13. 13 BLACK WIDOW1300
    May 2, 2009 at 8:07 pm

    niiiiicce


Leave a Reply

February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

Subscribe The Dark Realm!

Add to My AOL

