07
Feb
08

Another Red Sword… Of Death… ;)

Today I have yet another entry into what I think I’d like to call the “Hallowed Halls of the Red Sword”. Sounds catchy eh? No? OK how about the “Hallowed Swords of the Red Death” Aha! That got your attention didn’t it! No? Pffft. Whatever…

Vampire Skull Feeding Sword

Vampire Skull Feeding Sword
[view full size]

OK, I found this sword interesting for a couple of different reasons. Notwithstanding it’s faux ominous sounding name (Vampire Skull Feeding sword? OK, enough already. What is that supposed to be? What kind of monumental dork named this?) it has some unique design features that I found particularly unique and pleasing to my admittedly unorthodox eye…

The hilt is reminiscent of your average medieval European design, with a few interesting little accent twists. The sword sports a simple cross guard (simple is good) mated to a band of circular flames that adorn the top of an equally simple black grip. this, in turn is capped off by a pommel featuring a simple flared butt cap, featuring what looks like a large vampire bat (I’m guessing here) with it’s wings partially spread. Dunno what it is, but I like it.

I cannot say the same for whatever it is they decided to slap on top of the ricasso/guard. I’m guessing (from the name they gave the blade) that it is supposed to represent some sort of vampire skull. I am not particularly impressed however. These kinds of gimmicks get old real fast. Thankfully the mask (or whatever it is) is removable, and can be strapped to your pet chihuahuas face for Halloween if needed. Cause all it’s doing is covering a section of the most important part of this sword, the all important blade.

They say the blade makes the man. Or something. Whatever. In this case the blade makes the sword. The blade possesses some of the straight and narrow lines that I like to see in a sword. But more importantly, it has a very cool color scheme. It starts out at the tip being a black blade, and then at about a third of the way down the blade, transitions slowly from black into a rich deep blood red blade all the way to the hilt. Coolness!

Overall, a nice looking blade, even though I could certainly do without the rather weak attempt to appeal to the haemophage enamored demographic…

The Red Sword of Death (Yes, that’s what I’m calling it. Deal.) – [True Swords]

9 Responses to “Another Red Sword… Of Death… ;)”


  1. 1 ladyofspiders
    February 7, 2008 at 3:10 pm

    Red sword of death

    I like that.

    It is a fairly cool looking blade, though it does not jump out at me as much as some others have.

    Oooh oooohh can I use the mask on my pet Chupacabra?

  2. February 8, 2008 at 2:32 am

    removable guard??? But the mask is not the guard?? Stupid people shouldn’t breed!!

    I like the blade and handle, the skull would be ok if it wasn’t removable.

    What is it with the gimics??? It just makes them crap!

  3. February 8, 2008 at 10:39 am

    @LoS
    Yeah, the red on this blade isn’t as eye catching as many of the others i’ve blogged about… And yes, if you have a pet chupacabra, this little mask should work, although I doubt it would need one… Actually I didn’t realize Chupacabra could be domesticated… 😛

    @Sinza
    Yeah, removable guard. Actually it’s not even a guard, the sword already has a cross guard, so at best it’s like a removable ricasso adornment. But indeed, IMHO it might have been cool if the mask had been a slightly cleaner, smaller design, and integrated into the ricasso, rather than this stupid gimmick thing that makes no sense…

  4. 4 ladyofspiders
    February 8, 2008 at 1:53 pm

    *Grins*

    They can be trained, but they are not recomended as household or family pets, you have to have a speical permit to have one they make wonderful gaurds for your castle though

  5. February 9, 2008 at 8:29 am

    LOL Very interesting! I might have to catch me one! How many goats do you have to feed it on any given week? Or can I go the easy route and give it cattle? 🙂

  6. 6 ladyofspiders
    February 10, 2008 at 2:17 am

    Ummm, lets just say that sense a got mine, the neighborhood childern have began vanishing.

  7. February 10, 2008 at 2:38 am

    ROFL OOOOKKKK, I guess I’ll be striking the Chupacabra off my wish list then… 🙂

  8. 8 MoZZA
    August 25, 2008 at 12:53 pm

    imho i think it would look better without the mask…permanently without the mask

  9. August 27, 2008 at 12:00 am

    Yeah, seriously, the mask thing was totally unnecessary…


Leave a Reply

February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

Subscribe The Dark Realm!

Add to My AOL

