22
Jan
08

An Automatic Knife on Steroids…

A couple of months back I encountered a very interesting automatic, spring loaded, blade design from the movie SAW. Now I have never seen SAW, or any of it’s sequels, so I hadn’t been privy to the various supposedly gruesome weapons that the movies featured, but I will say, I might go see all of them, just to see weapons like this in action:

Saw Blade Gauntlet
[view full size]

Now don’t get me wrong. I’m not a big fan of people being killed. Especially not in the purportedly gruesome ways that the movie depicts. Though from what I have read, the series illustrate a complex subtext about the raw, cold hearted drive of pain and vengeance, humanity, self sacrifice and survival. As a student of the human psyche, that might be one of the main reasons I might go and see this film. To be honest, that’s not entirely true. I really just want to see the weapons… 😛 But, as usual, I digress.

We are here today because I am a huge fan of blade aesthetics and mechanics. And this blade has a healthy portion of both. I was very impressed both by the aesthetics of the blade, as well as the with the amount of work that went into the mechanical aspects of it’s construction. It incorporates a lot of ideas I have kicked about in my head for many, many years, as well as a few I had not thought of.

Now the page I found this described it as a nonworking replica prop from the movie, but to anyone with a mechanical frame of mind can see how this blade was designed to operate, and boy is it a thing of beauty. Of course, given that this was from a hollywood movie, the fabricators who originally came up with the design had the funds to build whatever they wanted, and it shows in the way it is constructed.

There are a lot of parts and fabrication that went into this design that your average garage fabricator might find difficult to duplicate unless they are excellent welders and machinists. For instance look at the deployment mechanism. The little “spidey paddle” mechanism is affixed to the gauntlet via a custom fabricated pivot point welded to a flange on blade carrier bracket. a very nice job, with the paddle custom bent to fit the contours of the wearers wrist and hand.

Not that this mechanism is terribly complex or anything like that, but the rail delivery system is unique in the world of such weapons, and overall the fit, finish and attention to detail are superb. Much better than what most of us would be able to come up with in our garages. Not that we aren’t trying.

A good knife maker friend of mine, Sinza who is probably even more inspired by these kind of weapons than I am, has a site dedicated to his knives, and a forum dedicated to the construction of weapons like these. If you fancy a peek at what can be done with common household fixtures and parts from home depot, mosey on down to his site for a gander. He’s got a pretty cool collection automatics to boot.

Sadly, the SAW blade gauntlet got pulled from the shelves almost as soon as it was made available. Still don’t know for sure why, but my guess would be reasons related to either copyright issues or irrational fears. But in any case, things like these, Wolverines claws, glaives, multi tools, combo weapons, all the unique and wonderful gadgets James Bond ever got from Q, etc., are things that have fueled my imagination for decades. So I’m always stoked to see something this cool, that isn’t just movie magic…

15 Responses to “An Automatic Knife on Steroids…”


  1. 1 ladyofspiders
    January 22, 2008 at 2:59 pm

    It is a little too modern for my personal taste, by the way, I enjoy the Saw movies.

  2. January 22, 2008 at 10:39 pm

    Indeed, this weapon is certainly of a more modern design. However I have to say that I enjoy both medieval and contemporary weaponry equally. So long as it has correct prerequisite points, curves and lines, It’s all good. In this case however, I would say I like this weapon more for it’s fusion of mechanics and blade work, rather than just it’s aesthetics alone.

    And apparently I’m missing out on this whole “SAW” thing, I guess I’m gonna have to go see it…

  3. 3 Kenkara
    July 23, 2008 at 12:50 pm

    hi ummm this may sound wierd but im a collecter of sorts, i’ve spent most of my life in the martial arts and know how to wield most blades. i was just woundering, do you know where i can get one of these?

  4. July 24, 2008 at 1:51 am

    Hey Kenkara,
    Why would that sound wierd? Have you looked at the stuff I blog about? 🙂
    Anyway these are no longer being sold, the original retailer is being tight lipped about why exactly, but my guess is copyright or safety issues. I’ve been looking all over for them and have not been able to find any others. And I’m pretty sure that anyone who bought them when they were still on sale will be holding on to them like it’s gold, so I’m afraid for the moment we are out of luck…

    Sorry…

  5. 5 MoZZA
    August 25, 2008 at 12:40 pm

    whens sinza gonna’ pop up i wonder? lol

    i really wanna make one of these!

  6. August 26, 2008 at 11:58 pm

    Oh, to make one of these? Either he or I will get there eventually… It’s only a matter of time…

  7. September 10, 2008 at 8:25 pm

    I can make one. Im sure.
    The design is simple enough.
    Got a fe friends who do this stuff for a living.
    E-mail me to find out stuff.
    Celticleafblade@yahoo.com

  8. September 13, 2008 at 3:33 am

    Actually Sinza has already made one… Looks pretty cool… Hasn’t finished the extended lock yet, but most of it is done… You can check it out here: http://Sinza.forumotion.com

  9. September 16, 2008 at 12:34 pm

    I like the look of it. Thanks for the post. Maybe I’ll have to check out the movies now.

  10. September 17, 2008 at 11:59 pm

    You are welcome, glad you liked it…

  11. November 4, 2008 at 3:48 am

    Hey bu bıçağın aşama aşama yapılmasını gösteren Türkçe yazılar ve resimler yokmu acaba?

  12. November 4, 2008 at 12:48 pm

    Hey where can i find this knifes makeing step bY step , turkish and whit picture?

  13. November 5, 2008 at 1:12 am

    Hi Jem,

    To my knowledge, there are no step by step instructions for making this either in English or Turkish… However we are in the process of trying to replicate a similar design over at the Automatic exotic forums… You are welcome to watch our progress (or even help) if you like. 🙂

    http://sinza.forumotion.com

  14. 14 Carsten
    February 15, 2009 at 10:15 am

    hi, wo bekomme ich diese saw ,,gauntlet,, her?
    CarstenStumm@gmx.de


Leave a Reply

January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Subscribe The Dark Realm!

Add to My AOL

