27
Nov
07

Another Big Honkin’ Video Game Sword…

I am a big fan of computer games. My favorites are first person shooters. I like testing my reflexes and cunning against others on-line. Only one problem though. There are very few sword-based FPS games. RPG (Role Playing Games) such as WOW (World Of Warcraft), on the other hand, often have a dizzying plethora of bladed weapons from which to choose.

Axes, Swords, Knives, Spears, you name it, they have it. And given my love of variety in weaponry, I have more than once asked myself whether I was playing the wrong type of game. But after about an hour of walking around hacking away at peons, I’m quickly reminded why I don’t. They bore the living daylights outta me!!!

However, they are great fodder for creative weapon designers, as the Final Fantasy line of Busters and Gunblades has proven. And here is yet another entry in the video game weaponry arsenal:

Gaerts Sword

Gaerts Sword
[view full size]

Gaert is a character from the CORPG (Competitive/Cooperative Online Role-Playing Game) Guild Wars. And this is his sword. And what a sword. I think the thing I like most about it is it’s brute, raw, almost animalistic appearance. The blade has a rather wicked, organic shape to it, with a mean looking hook just before the point.

The grip has a criss crossed pattern, across it’s length, with a broad sweeping beak-like guard, and a similar birds head/beak theme for the pommel. At first glance I couldn’t really tell why i liked this sword so much, but after describing it, I think I have an idea. It looks like a great big bird of prey, rendered in cold, hard steel. I love these things…

*update*

A reader pointed out in the comments that this sword has nothing to do with Guild wars. After a little research, I found out, sure enough, that There was no such character as “Gaert” in the Guild Wars game, and this sword was a figment of an overenthusiastic sword designers imagination. While I’ll give the designer props for designing a a really cool sword, I am not impressed. This is not the first time that I have run into swords bearing references to game or movie characters they had absolutely nothing to do with. And I’m sure it won’t be the last.

However I do have a few choice words to say to all you sword designers who like to make a blade and then slap whatever unrelated but popular name you can think of on it in order to boost your sales: You suck like 3 month old rocky mountain oysters. There.

*end update*

Gaerts Sword – [Red Dragon Sword Co.]

6 Responses to “Another Big Honkin’ Video Game Sword…”


  1. 1 ladyofspiders
    November 27, 2007 at 3:17 pm

    I have to say I have never been a big fan of oversized blades such as are often commonly found in animie

  2. November 27, 2007 at 7:39 pm

    Yeah, I don’t blame you. Oversized blades like these are really the stuff of testosterone laden steel junkies like me who think bigger is always better. And, of course, Japanese anime writers, who tend to use a characters weapons as an integral part of the story telling process. In general, the bigger the blade, the more important it is to the integrity of the story… LOL

    But it’s always fun to see real life knife designers try to replicate weapons that were obviously only intended for anime characters. Especially given that anime characters routinely defy the laws of physics with their various oversized blades. Most of them are “Epic Phails” but every once in a while, they manage to pull it off.

    And I will readily admit that I’m more or less like a little puppy dog eyeballing a bowl of kibble when someone manages to pull it off perfectly… 🙂

  3. 3 Chris
    December 27, 2007 at 8:40 pm

    Not from Guild Wars at all. There is no character named Gaert, and there is no sword that looks like that.

  4. December 28, 2007 at 1:42 am

    Hey Chris, thanks for posting. Prompted by your post, I actually did a little research on the topic, and sure enough, you are correct. This weapon is a totally unrelated to guild wars. I will be updating the post to reflect my chagrin at such shenanigans. A pity RPG’s are not my schtick, this would have been an easy catch.

    Thanks for the heads up!

  5. 5 Vix
    September 27, 2008 at 2:53 am

    was google searching stuff on “guild wars” when i found this post.

    The place You link to that’s selling the sword would be nothing more than a scammer. like whom in there right fame of mind would pay over 100 US dollars for a in-game sword? I know some out there prolly would .. more cents than its worth a brain stem.

    However being a GW player myself besides a Wow player, I’ve yet to see Gw have big ass swords in there they sure do not compete with teh sword sized in WoW and those can be pretty freaking large unlike teh swords in GW pretty much a butter knife.

    Nice Post anyways and most def a Nice blog.

  6. October 5, 2008 at 2:08 am

    @Vix,
    Thanks, There are, fortunately for the knife makers a subset of gamers who have the cash to throw about into stuff like this… Me, personally, I don’t love GW or WOW enough to actually go out and buy one of these things, but If I had enough cash lying around, and was a big enough fanatic, i can see how that might suddenly become a good idea… LOL 🙂


Leave a Reply

November 2007
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Subscribe The Dark Realm!

Add to My AOL

