25
Nov
07

Yet another red dragon sword..

Not too long ago, I posted about an interesting sword, the Dragon Scimitar which had the most notable distinction of having a red blade. I was suitably impressed with it, but didn’t expect to come across any other similarly colored blades any time soon. Boy was I wrong!:

Dragons Wrath

Dragons Wrath
[view full size]

Surprise! Another red blade. Now I found this particular sword is interesting for two reasons. First, because this sword design is a nearly exact duplicate of another sword I have posted about called the Mithrodin, save for the fact that this one has a polished grip and a dragon pommel. I won’t go into the reasons why I like this design here, as I went through it pretty thoroughly in the Mithrodin post.

The second reason is that, compared to the original, the red blade is actually an improvement, perhaps even more so than a black blade might be, which is something I am actually surprised to find myself saying. I also find it interesting that so far, pretty much every single red bladed weapon I have come across, this, the Dragon Scimitar, and Zar’roc has featured some relationship with dragons, either in name or origin which, to be quite honest, is a little baffling. It’s not as if a Dragons would prefer a red sword over any other color. But I digress.

I am honestly looking forward to seeing a few more weapons with this blade treatment, though I doubt that it will be a common occurrence…

Dragons Wrath – [Red Dragon Sword Company]

4 Responses to “Yet another red dragon sword..”


  1. 1 ladyofspiders
    November 25, 2007 at 12:17 pm

    Well one good thing about red blades, is you don’t have to worry as much about cleaning. Blood can be such a bother to try and rinse out.

    *shifts eyes* not that I would know anything about that

  2. November 25, 2007 at 2:00 pm

    LOL

    Uh huh. I’m sure… It’s OK milady. I can keep a secret…

    ROFL…

  3. November 27, 2007 at 12:34 am

    Nice! I like it! Just wrap the handle in leather and we’re done!
    It would be nice to know what kind of coating the red is. Powdercoat? Something else? I want red blades on my knives!!

  4. November 27, 2007 at 3:03 am

    Indeed, actually a leather wrapped handle would be awesome! So far as coatings, a lot of heavy duty black work horse blades use a black Xylan coating or a specially formulated black epoxy.

    However since this wasn’t intended for actual use, I’d guess they used a combination of red and black powders for color, since powder coating is relatively cheap and goes on like paint…


Leave a Reply

November 2007
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Subscribe The Dark Realm!

Add to My AOL

