23
Nov
07

A no frills battle axe.

Battle axes are some of the most brutish weapons out there. Their sheer size and heft makes them a match for even armored opponents, who can be damaged by the impact of the weapon alone, even if the edge doesn’t actually penetrate the armor.

But all of this comes at the cost of speed. Battle axes are not the fastest weapons on earth. But I love them anyway. I’m not sure why, but as far back as I can remember, every time I sketched a weapon design on a piece of paper, it was of a double edged battle axe, or D-BAX as I like to call them… 😉

Which brings me to the topic of todays post. I found a D-BAX whose design looked remarkably like one I had sketched many years ago:

Double Edged Battle Axe

Double Bladed Battle Axe
[view full size
]

Yeah. That’s pretty much what it looked like. Except that the variations I created always either had a simple flat, rounded or pointed pommel. I really like this design. Probably because it looks like a horned bat. I always had a thing for organic looking weapons. I also had a variation with just one point in the middle.

Anyway, I thought I would post this becuause it is actually a very good example of the kinds of DBAX I would make, right down to the finish on the steel. Though i might use wood or synthetic scales for the handle. And actually, with the technology available today, I would probably also make it jet black. (Of course!) But the basic shape would remain the same.

Some day, I think I’m going to start a little knife shop and make one of these myself…

Double Edged Battle Axe – [Swords of Honor]

12 Responses to “A no frills battle axe.”


  1. 1 ladyofspiders
    November 25, 2007 at 12:19 pm

    Now that is wicked cool

  2. November 25, 2007 at 2:03 pm

    It is indeed. I’ve always found it difficult to come up with any particularly wicked knife designs that didn’t look too busy. But cool axe designs just seem so easy. I guess they are naturally predisposed to the kinds of curves I like…

  3. 3 Relativelybest
    August 21, 2008 at 3:40 am

    It’s actually a myth that you need heavy clobbering weapons to deal with armored opponents. Against heavy armor the best strategy is to use rigid, pointy thrusting blades with diamond cross sections that can be wedged in between two pieces of armor. You can only get so much impact before the weapon becomes too heavy to be practical.

    Anyway, this axe looks pretty sensible. It’s funny, though: even though they consistently show up in medieval fantasy settings, I don’t think I’ve ever actually seen a European double-edged axe. Most real ones seem to be from the middle east or India.

  4. August 21, 2008 at 8:26 pm

    @RB
    I beg to differ. It is not a myth, there are volumes and volumes of historical evidence to support the advantage that heavy bladed weapons have over light blades against armor on the battlefield, not to mention lots of practical battlefield science.

    That’s not to say that’s the only way to defeat armor, it was just easier to fight an armored foe with a heavy, large bladed weapon because those kinds of weapons were very forgiving of poor aim, and also because the weight of weapon did all the work.

    I agree, you can puncture armor with much less effort with a spear, pike or lance, but I wouldn’t make the blanket statement that they were the best weapon/strategy, as you also had to be much better trained to use those, than to say, swing an axe or glaive.

    Good point about the dearth of medieval European double bladed axes though. I think there actually were quite a few in use, though I think they would have been of the smaller, melee axe variety, and not the huge double blades battle axes that we see commonly protrayed.

    It would also explain why big double blades Axes seemed to be almost considered barbaric weapons in Medieval Europe, since the primary wielders of those kinds of axes would have primarily been “Barbarians from foreign lands”… (Anyone get the really bad Conan reference? 🙂 )

  5. 5 Niccolo
    August 22, 2008 at 4:51 am

    Well… if you trace them, these would be courtesy of the vikings. And for sheer randomness, so are the dwarves.

    Big chunky battle-axes and dwarves go together like chocolate and more chocolate, because big chunky battle-axes and vikings mix with similar consistency. The dwarves are based on Vikings.. or are from viking mythology, I can’t remember which… but it explains the beer-swillingness, the desire for helms with pointy horns and the love of carnage.

    Though where the caves came from, I haven’t the foggiest. (I think that part miiiight be the Viking mythos speaking, but hey)

  6. August 25, 2008 at 2:23 am

    Ah… Good ol vikings… Though it’s still baffling how you get a cave dwelling creature from a sea faring culture…

    Also… I think I mixed up my bad references… I think the Conan reference was meant to be a Kull reference… Or was it a Quartermain reference… OK, Just ignore me…

  7. 7 Crosseyes
    August 25, 2008 at 9:59 am

    The dwarves are mainly metal-workers living in a tundra-esque landscape, so in order to both escape the cold AND be closer to their precious metals they went underground

    Thanks a bunch World Of Warcraft 😀
    Crosseyes
    X_X

  8. 8 MoZZA
    August 25, 2008 at 10:33 am

    Nicolo,
    youve just buggered up there lol, the vikings NEVER wore helmets with pointy horns or wings, i think its something to do with the blades getting caught imbetween them during battle. and the dwarves come from the mind of tolkein and celtic mythology, although they were based on the norwegian and scandinavian barbarians that hardly ever raped (another stereotypical unfair description of the vikings) the beserkers who did most of the raping were more or less the social outcasts of the vikings although they were very effective in battle due to their uncontrolable rage.

    so yeah, as far as no-frills-axes i rather quite like the simple but AWESOME look of the Pirela LMAX Modular Axe its a very simple design but i imagine it would be sturdy and have a nice tactical “move-out-my-way-im-the-militia” type feel to it

  9. August 26, 2008 at 11:42 pm

    @Mozza

    I think Crosseyes is quoting D&D lore now… LOL

    Though your answer raises a thorny philosophical question: If the vikings never wore horns because thier weapons would get caught on them during battle, then at some point they had to have been wearing horns in order to make that particular discovery right? 😛

    PS. The Berserkers were freaking crazy lunatic madmen… But good to have in battle…

  10. 10 MoZZA
    September 16, 2008 at 12:24 pm

    well there is no real evidence of them getting cuaght in battle , just my opinion, but no helmet discovered from the viking era including the sutton hoo helmet has had horns!

  11. September 17, 2008 at 11:57 pm

    LOL Yeah, I know, I was just trying to be a smartass… I phail… LOL

  12. 12 MoZZA - the urban sasquatch
    September 18, 2008 at 6:55 am

    awwwh poor big balrog (hugs)LOL


Leave a Reply

November 2007
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Subscribe The Dark Realm!

Add to My AOL

