03
Nov
07

A Simple, Hand Crafted Sword.

I came upon this sword not too long ago, and thought it make for an interesting post:

Hand Forged Warrior Sword

Hand Crafted Warrior Sword
[view full size]

I thought this would be an interesting post topic for several reasons. First, it is a hand made sword. In the veritable sea of mass produced weaponry I run into on a daily basis, it’s always nice to find a hand crafted weapon.

Though it used to be that hand forged swords tended to be of higher quality than mass produced variants, with today’s technologies, metals, and repeatable, high quality industry manufacturing methods, this is no longer the case, and many manufacturers have taken the cheaper production route.

There is nothing intrinsically wrong with that, for low to mid range quality weapons, except that it lessens the individuality of each weapon. With weapons like these, you are almost guaranteed that each sword will be unique in some way, which I find very cool. But that is not the only reason why I like this sword. I was also attracted to it’s simplicity and practicality.

You can tell, just by looking at it, that this sword is not intended to be a flashy show weapon. This looks a lot like a large, but very slim machete. And it appears to have been manufactured to stand up to the same kind of abuse.

I’ve always liked weapons that looked simultaneously utilitarian and classic, and this fits the bill. From the full tang, dual fuller blade, through the cord wrapped hardwood scales, the entire weapon means business.

And, of course, I would be remiss if I didn’t mention how the the dark finish on the high carbon blade adds a nice aesthetic touch. This is my kind of weapon. Simple, blatantly utilitarian, but also subtly elegant.

Hand Forged Warrior Sword – [True Swords]

4 Responses to “A Simple, Hand Crafted Sword.”


  1. 1 ladyofspiders
    November 4, 2007 at 10:53 am

    That is a pretty cool sword

  2. November 5, 2007 at 1:21 am

    Yeah I like it. It looks cool but means business at the same time…

  3. 3 Idetrorce
    December 15, 2007 at 11:30 pm

    very interesting, but I don’t agree with you
    Idetrorce

  4. December 16, 2007 at 1:41 am

    @Idetrorce
    LOL Well, you are certainly welcome to disagree with me. I am not known for always being right. But I will say that I’d have preferred a little more detail about what point exactly, you disagree with… 🙂


Leave a Reply

November 2007
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Subscribe The Dark Realm!

Add to My AOL

