01
Sep
07

Oni Battling Fun…

Went roaming the old haunts today (as usual), and ran across a sword that I always intended to write about, but never actually did.

The Sword of Oni

The Sword of Oni
[view full size]

This sword is from the video game, Onimusha 3: Demon Siege, and is a single reproduction the pair of swords used by the games protagonist, Samanosuke Akechi. What really caught my eye about this sword were the colors used, and how they were used to bring a great deal of contrast to the weapon. The bright orange and black makes the sword look kind of tiger-like, A feature that is always a big plus in my book.

And the theme of the clawed cross guard and bright orange accent on the rear of the ricasso is quite eye catching. However, for all of it’s great flashiness, I found several things to nitpick about it. First off, the tip is somewhat lacking. Rather than have a good solid tanto point, it kind of has a shallow, almost flat bladed tip to it. This would definitely not be the best thrusting weapon.

In fact this general softening of the edges and points has been done all over the sword. The points on the front and rear of the ricasso at the point where it transitions to the blade, has been smoothed out somewhat. And the claw motif of the guard has also been given the same treatment, looking more like cones, than curving, sharp, menacing, talons.

In addition to that, though I thought that, though the colors certainly popped, I felt that the sword should really be a much darker weapon than is portrayed in the reproduction. The bright oranges should have been black or some other dark color. In essence, the sword was kinda “nerfed” (as we say in gaming parlance), by the designer.

Perhaps It is unfair to compare it to game art, but since they did have that model to work with, it should have been possible to get it that much closer to what it the swords in the accompanying picture looked like. That’s not to say that the sword is bad. As i said before, the overall theme is great, and quite vibrant. And many of it’s characteristics are reminiscent of the Reaver sword, which I really like.

So long as you’re not hung up on video game accuracy, like the nerd that I am, this should make for a great addition to anybodys’ sword wall… Even if I think it would have been uncompromisingly cool if it had been made with black accents instead… Yes I know I say that about everything, but come on. This time it would really make a difference. No, really. An albino tiger theme… with black accents… Yeah… Think about it…

Onimusha 3: The Sword of Oni – [True Swords]

5 Responses to “Oni Battling Fun…”


  1. 1 ChroniclerLoki
    October 6, 2008 at 11:01 pm

    I feel like I could break the blade with a good sneeze, and the darn thing doesn’t look like it could even cut warm cheese, now one blade that would be fun to see you blog about simply because I’m dying to know what your thoughts about it are would be the Helix Blade Sword of Oni the spirit of the Fierce Deity Mask in the Legend of Zelda Majora’s Mask. I know already the shortcomings of such a blade made in real life, but I just want to see the thoughts of others on it as well 😀

  2. October 12, 2008 at 9:21 pm

    Ah… the Helix Blade sword? Well… I think it’s a terribly problematic design. But I try to avoid talking about fictional weapons. If you find me a replica, and I’ll write a post about it… 🙂

  3. 3 ChroniclerLoki
    October 13, 2008 at 12:09 am

    admittedly the only replica I have seen is for an action figure, and I don’t think that counts but it is a replica nonetheless.

  4. October 14, 2008 at 9:54 pm

    Nein! Action figures do not count. Unless they are full sized and have full sized steel weapons. 🙂

  5. 5 ChroniclerLoki
    October 17, 2008 at 9:01 pm

    lol, I thought you would say that 8)


Leave a Reply

September 2007
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Subscribe The Dark Realm!

Add to My AOL

