22
Aug
07

Punisher Movie Sword?

In keeping with the action movie themed swords I have talked about recently, I thought I’d post about an interesting sword, namely “The Punisher” movie sword:

The Punisher Sword

The Punisher Movie Sword
[view full size]

This sword is all the more interesting because, well, frankly I don’t remember the Punisher using any kind of sword in the movie at all, let alone a “Punisher” branded weapon. Now it could be my memory is faulty, but a more likely explanation is that the manufacturer is simply trying to make some moolah off the Punisher movie… Gotta love marketing…

But besides the fact that this sword may have nothing whatsoever to do with the movie, (beyond the skull motif), it really is a nice sword. I like the direction the designer went with it. The way the punisher skull emblem has been incorporated into the aesthetics of the sword is very pleasing. The blade itself appears quite menacing. Though I have a preference for curved weapons, I also love well designed straight, simple and narrow swords. I love the symmetry of them.

I think the greatest thing about this sword is how the skull motif has been fluidly incorporated into it’s design, being prominent but not overpowering. The skull on the pommel is a nice touch. The cross guard is perhaps the most noteworthy feature of this sword, incorporating a really sweet skull just below the ricasso, set amid what I can only describe as a kind if hybrid wing/claw cross guard design, also sprinkled with skulls, with a large bone-like separator mid-wing.

Punisher Sword - Hilt & Skull Plaque Punisher Sword - Cross Guard
(click on images to view full size)

The numerous skulls on the wings of the cross guard are probably the only area where I think they went a little overboard. I would have preferred to see it empty, or with some form of organic emphasis on the curve of the guard. But beyond that everything else is well done, down to the smooth, almost concave taper of the ridged black grip.

Overall, a superb design. Even if no such weapon is canon in the “Punisher” universe…

Punisher Sword – [Red Dragon Sword Co]

2 Responses to “Punisher Movie Sword?”


  1. August 23, 2007 at 1:01 am

    Sweet! Nice and simple.

    …..I love skulls……

  2. August 23, 2007 at 3:10 pm

    Yeah, i think that’s why i like it too, the simplicity of it. I actually like this skull design, though i thought the skulls on the cross guard appeared a little too crowded/messy. If they would have arranged them all vertically/symmetrically, I would have had no complaints about this sword whatsoever…


Leave a Reply

August 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Subscribe The Dark Realm!

Add to My AOL

