16
Aug
07

The blades of the evil reavers…

I recently came across a pair of weapons from the very short-lived, but extremely good (I thought) Sci-Fi TV-series-turned-movie: Firefly: Serenity

Reaver sword and axe

Reaver Sword and Axe
[view full size]

In the movie, the super genius scientific human weapon experiment known as River Tam (played by dancer/actor Summer Glau) relieves members of a race of evil mutants called the Reavers of their weapons, and proceeds to methodically, mercilessly, you could even say gracefully, eliminate them, one after the other, until there are literally none left in the building to challenge her.

As a side note, as contemporary modern weapon fight scenes go, I found that particular fight scene to possess some of the most aesthetically pleasing choreographed sword fight sequences, second only to that of actor Wesley Snipes antics in the Blade movies. Ms. Glau really puts her dancing experience to good use. But, as usual, I digress.

River Tam Wields the reaver sword
[view full size]

The thing about this pair that caught my eye was the Reaver sword. It posseses a kind of barbaric grace, almost as if it were a physical representation of a dancer practicing a most lethal ballet. Combining both sinister curves and a kind of brutish simplicity, it was perfectly suited for it’s role in the movie.

Now the axe, on the other hand, mades no aesthetic sense to me. Looked kind of like a mutant cleaver. Perhaps it does make sense, given the kind of creatures the reavers were, but I just didn’t get the right feel from it’s aesthetics. But given that, in the fight scene I mention earlier, River Tam used both the sword and the axe to great effect, I suppose it would have been an even greater evil to omit the axe from the collection.

Me personally, I would have been happy with just the sword…

Reaver Sword and Axe – [Medieval Weapon Art]

7 Responses to “The blades of the evil reavers…”


  1. August 16, 2007 at 11:34 pm

    The sword of the Operative, now that is a nice, clean, short sword. Another one I need to order. The above sword has nice lines, but the ax does nothing for me.

  2. August 18, 2007 at 3:59 am

    Yeah, I almost forgot about that! It will be my next post…

  3. 3 MoZZA
    September 7, 2008 at 11:59 am

    personally i like em both but hey thats just me 😀

  4. September 8, 2008 at 1:31 am

    LOL What’s funny is that, the fact that you like this axe makes perfect sense to me…

    I’m also gonna take a shot in the dark and say you’ll probably also like the movie “Ghosts of Mars”… 😀

  5. 5 MoZZA
    September 16, 2008 at 12:49 pm

    never seen it but ill look it up!

  6. 6 ChroniclerLoki
    October 6, 2008 at 10:38 pm

    Actually I do like the Ghosts of Mars, a very good movie if you don’t mind the modern trend of ending movies with a cliffhanger *Sorry to spoil it even that much for those of you who haven’t seen it* and some very good blades from modern circular saw blades to some odd designs that actually looked like something that could have been cobbled together and forged (or combined on the fly) in a mining camp. Phyreblade, I do have to make one aside though and I’m sorry for interjecting it here, but your grammar and spelling are occasionally atrocious. Now that I have released my inner spelling Nazi demon (or daemon depending upon your area) I have to chase him down and beat him into submission again before I can manhandle him back into his box three sizes too small, but at least I feel better about it. 😉

  7. October 12, 2008 at 9:13 pm

    Fixed! HAH! Take that you Grammar Nazi!! 😛

    Actually, do let me know if I’ve made a mistake somewhere, sometimes i let a few slip by, and don’t catch them ’til a few days later…


Leave a Reply

August 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Subscribe The Dark Realm!

Add to My AOL

