08
Aug
07

Blind Justice…

Today I will be talking about a sword that I have always found beautiful, simple, and elegant, but deceptively benign in appearance. This is the Shikomizue (Cane Sword) used by the famous blind masseuse/swordsman Zatoichi from the Japanese TV and film series.

Zatoichi’s Shikomizue

Zatoichis Shikomizue (Sword Cane)
[view full size]

I have always admired the Zatoichi character. He was exemplary on many levels. To begin with, he was blind, which at the time, made you the lowest of the low on the social totem pole. Yet in spite of this, not only does he not only does not let this prevent him from being a productive member of society, but in addition, he actively fights (with some rather super extraordinary swordsmanship I might add) against the injustice he encounters on a daily basis.

And then there was his sword. Or rather Sword Cane (aka Shikomizue). Basically it was a sword designed to look like a simple walking stick when sheathed. A deceptive and covert weapon yes, but extremely suitable for a wandering blind beggar who did not wish to attract attention. I really don’t have much to say about this weapon except that because I have always been a fan of both stick fighting and swords, the Shikomizue to me always represented two weapons I love in one glorious package.

The basic premise of the Shikomizue, and the variations if it’s design have always intrigued me, and the one used by Zatoichi was one of the best. It is simply a classic must-have weapon for anyone into swords. Trust me. I wouldn’t steer you wrong. really.

Zatoichis Shikomizue – [Red Dragon Sword Co.]

6 Responses to “Blind Justice…”


  1. 1 MoZZA
    September 7, 2008 at 12:06 pm

    zatoichi is a brilliant folklore story, and IMHO i really like the blade

  2. September 8, 2008 at 1:39 am

    Yeah, I love the story and the blades… I have 3 shikomizue, and didn’t even realize I had them… LOL

  3. 3 MoZZA
    September 16, 2008 at 12:55 pm

    im jealous……

  4. September 18, 2008 at 12:01 am

    I’ll probably take pics and post them @Sinza’s when I have some time…

  5. 5 MoZZA - the urban sasquatch
    September 18, 2008 at 6:57 am

    good! go for it!

  6. October 5, 2008 at 2:46 am

    @Mozza… Pics of my shikomizue are up in my Armory thread over at Sinza’s…

    P.S.
    Any of you who want to go check them out can do so at Sinza’s site:
    http://sinza.forumotion.com Search for Armory, and look for a thread so named started by yours truly… (Phyreblade) 🙂


Leave a Reply

August 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Subscribe The Dark Realm!

Add to My AOL

