27
Jul
07

The work of a master blade wrangler…

A while back, one of my readers (Thanks Jon!) clued me in on a custom knife maker out of Montana by the name of Harkins. Jeffery A. Harkins. Please allow me the honor to present the work of Mr. Harkins, grand master of switchblade husbandry:

J. A. Harkins Custom Knives

J. A. Harkins Custom Knives
[view full size]

My two favorite Harkins knife styles are featured in the pic above, and are called the Triton, and the “Q”. These are both DA (Double Action) OTF switchblade designs, though they each feature different switch location points. The Triton features a switch on the flat side of the blade enclosure, while the “Q” features an edge mounted switch. Both are awesome. In fact pretty much every knife on the site, even the plain ones, are simply outstanding. In every way. Except for the cost of course. But you couldn’t expect any different. This level of quality ain’t supposed to be cheap.

Now me personally, I think Harkins makes some of the most exceptionally beautiful knives I have ever seen. While there is certainly no shortage of excellent custom knife designers, many of the designers whose weapons I have blogged about on this site so far have made a name for themselves by designing strange, futuristic, unusual or even outlandish weapons, which, while cool, are not exactly practical, or even functional.

What sets Jeffery Harkins apart is not only the beautiful aesthetics, high quality fit and finish, and general overall attention to detail of each knife, but the fact that all of his knives appear to be constructed to withstand the rigors of daily use, just like any regular folding pocket knife. Not that I would subject such any of these knives to such a life. No, that would be blasphemous. This is art. Functional art, but art nonetheless. No, really. I honestly don’t think I could bring myself to blemish one of these blades.

OK, fine, mock me if you will, but go to his site and see for your own eyes what I’m talking about. Just a little warning. If you are a knife fanatic like I am, you will need something to wipe up the drool from your keyboard as you browse…

The Triton & “Q” custom switchblade – [J. A. Harkins]

5 Responses to “The work of a master blade wrangler…”


  1. July 31, 2007 at 1:48 am

    I LOVE his stuff!!! Jeff is also a really cool guy. We’ve talked a few times on the phone about getting together on a few designs and I have to say that he is just a really nice, cool, talented fellow. I own a Harkin’s Triton and it is my favorite automatic knife. I’m gonna try and make a motorcycle trip over to Jeff’s next summmer for a couple of days if we can figure out the dates. All around one of my favorite knife makers. Jeff ROCKS!!!

  2. August 1, 2007 at 5:33 pm

    I’d really love to get one of his knives, but sadly, cannot afford one at the moment…
    But in time… It will be mine… Oh yes… It will be mine…

  3. August 2, 2007 at 3:44 am

    You can get a production model of the Triton from Master Of Defence knives for about $300-$400. I see that they just came out with Tritons w/ tanto blade. Just do a search on Harkin’s Triton and you’ll find a bunch of places that sell them. Good knives, I use mine all the time. It was a bit hard at first to think about using the knife, because it is SO nice, but now that it has been used it is my favorite carry blade. Great acton!! It has a snap stronger than ANY other OTF I have or have seen/used.

  4. 4 MoZZA
    September 7, 2008 at 12:34 pm

    jeff harkins knives *drools* those are some sexy blades right there 😉

  5. September 8, 2008 at 1:48 am

    I really love Harkins Knives. Aesthetics, functionality and mechanical excellence all rolled into one beautiful blade… Not that he would ever need one, but if Chuck Norris ever used a switchblade it would probably be a Harkins custom… LOL 🙂


Leave a Reply

July 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Subscribe The Dark Realm!

Add to My AOL

