29
May
07

Da Biggest Buttahfly Knife… Evah…

Sorry for the unusually long lapse from my last post. I’ve been a busy, busy bee, working hard to… err… make the most of the 3 day Memorial weekend to get some *ahem*… “work” done…

Not buying it huh? OK. I’ll admit it. I was slacking off. Pool parties, barbecues and whatnot. I’m kinda like the unofficial Grill Master at these things… Hey it’s never my idea. I guarantee you. I somehow manage to get invited to these things. But even if I do say so myself, I run a mean grill… But getting back to why we’re here.

Ok, so by now you all should know how much I love writing about gargantuan blades. They fascinate me. So today it should come as no surprise that I have found yet another blade that is unusually large for it’s class. This blade comes from a Japanese manga/anime called Battle Angel Alita. I present to you:

Alitas Damascus Blade

Alitas Damascus Blade
[view full size]

Now usually this is the point where I start ripping on a blades shortcomings, weaknesses, impracticalities, etc. But to be honest, I could really find no major faults with this blade, besides the fact that it’s name might be a bit misleading because it is not a “Damascus Steel” blade. But it is only so called because in the manga, the blade is actually given the name “Damascus” so it isn’t really intended to mislead anyone.

I even looked for shortcomings that might have resulted from designing a what is basically a freakishly huge butterfly knife but I didn’t see any. In fact, the butterfly knife design could be construed as a plus, since, unlike an ordinary sword, it would need no scabbard, and when closed it is encased in yet more steel, which means it could still be used as a very formidable weapon even while closed.

And it’s design is a thing of beauty. At 38″ overall when open, it’s blade is comparable to that of a medium sized sword. When closed it is 20.75″ which puts it at a decent eskrima range. In fact, id think this blade would be an ideal weapon for most Filipino martial arts.

The folding handles are steel, with beautiful oak scales covering both sides. The blade itself is 17.4″ of stainless steel, with holes and a wicked drop point adding to it’s no nonsense look. The latch mechanism seems very robust, and the attention to detail, fit and finish appear to good. Who would have thought that a butterfly knife could be scaled up to these proportions, and still be both practical and aesthetically pleasing? It certainly caught me by surprise!

Alitas Damascus Blade – [True Swords]

6 Responses to “Da Biggest Buttahfly Knife… Evah…”


  1. 1 MoZZA
    September 7, 2008 at 1:16 pm

    why?, just, why?

  2. 2 Niccolo
    September 8, 2008 at 1:28 am

    Why not? Just think of the fun, Mozza!

  3. September 8, 2008 at 2:15 am

    Actually, I find this one of the more interesting reproductions of an anime weapon. I don’t know of you ever watched Battle Angel Alita or not, I love that anime, I guess because i’ve always been a fan of cybernetics. But anyway I thought this weapon had an interesting combination of features that closely matched two disciplines I liked, stick/staff weapons and blades… Being in a huge switchblade factor was just a plus…

    Actually there was also another double ended bladed staff weapon I really liked, it was used in the OAV by this cyborg assassin, I think I’m gonna have to see if there are any repros of that too… 🙂

  4. 4 MoZZA
    September 8, 2008 at 11:12 am

    @ niccolo,
    hmmm yeah good point! =]

    @ phyre,
    never seen it dude. may have to check it out later on!

  5. 5 ChroniclerLoki
    September 28, 2008 at 2:39 pm

    Don’t ask why when it comes to blades dude. Just like asking why someone would climb mount rushmore, they would likely tell you because it was there. This blade is a very sound idea because you can use it as a walking stick and still have a weapon handy in the eventuality of running into a fight, lol.

  6. October 5, 2008 at 2:29 am

    Exactly why i like it… 🙂


Leave a Reply

May 2007
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Subscribe The Dark Realm!

Add to My AOL

