23
May
07

A Beautiful, Elegant Blade…

Ok, today we travel back to the realm of wizards, sorcery and dragons. We visit another sword from the realm of Eragon. I was caught by surprise by this sword. I don’t know what it is about it that impressed me so much, but I knew I had to write about it. This is the sword wielded by the Elven Princess Arya, I’d like to introduce you all to:

The Sword of Arya

The Sword Of Arya
[view full size]

Now this sword is beautiful in many ways. For one, it’s simplicity is very appealing. The blade is relatively simple, an basic single edged blade with a mild, graceful curve leading into a sharp point. The short handle is organic in appearance, also slightly curved, much like the blade, with a bone like look to it, but obviously designed to afford a positive grip to it’s wielder. The over all effect is one of elegance encapsulated in a very organic style.

At 34″ overall, it is not a long sword by any means, but it’s design is in keeping with the character that wields it in the movie. It is intended to be a light, fast sword, tailored to a very skilled user. The narrow point design might indicate a preference towards fast, thrusting attacks, much like a rapier, but the thickness towards the hilt would also provide a lot of blade flexibility, allowing for slashing and parrying larger blades where necessary.

I have to say I just love the overall design of the sword. The simplicity, the organic curves, even the design focus all work together to make this sword a beautiful and elegant work of art. It’s going on my list. Most def. No doubt.

The Sword of Arya – [Red Dragon Sword Company]

The Sword of Arya – [True Swords]


4 Responses to “A Beautiful, Elegant Blade…”


  1. 1 ChroniclerLoki
    September 28, 2008 at 12:43 am

    My only question is where can I get one? SLIGHT modifier for that last statement, where can I get the girl who wields it too? Make her good at video games and I’d have my perfect woman :).

    This sword is so fitting for the character that I cannot eloquently put to words what is on my mind, which is sad for I am skilled in writing what comes to mind, more so than I am able to verbalize what I’m thinking. But that has nothing to do with blades so I’ll shut up now.

  2. October 5, 2008 at 2:26 am

    Well, Dunno where you can get the girl. But I believe the sword can be had here:

    Sword of Arya – [Red Dragon Sword Co]

    Good luck on your noble quest… 🙂

  3. 3 ChroniclerLoki
    October 12, 2008 at 11:36 pm

    thank you, profusely 😀


Leave a Reply

May 2007
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Subscribe The Dark Realm!

Add to My AOL

