08
May
07

A Wicked Axe.

Today we will look at an axe whose fundamental design is all but diametrically opposed to traditional axe design. I have seen my fair share of axe designs, I’ve even sketched a few myself. But this one blows them all out of the water in terms of uniqueness and intimidation. From the twisted (in ways I have all kinds of respect for : )) mind of designer Kit Rae, I present:

The Black Legion Battle Axe

Black Legion Battle Axe
[view full size]

Now this axe represents a major departure from traditional axe design. First off, it is designed more like two deep bellied bowie knives placed back to back with an elegant arch joining each blade to the shaft. In fact, the blades of this axe have a striking resemblance to the last Kit Rae blade I blogged about, albeit significantly wider and more ornate. The shaft itself could have passed for a very efficient spear, the long black handle having two decorative shaft guards, then terminating in a very convincing spear point, vaguely reminiscent of a broad headed arrow tip.

The axe blades themselves are a work of art, sweeping in then out from the bottom of the blade, finally curving quite menacingly into sharp points at the top. A pattern of large elliptical voids also occur in the blade, giving it a more futuristic feel.

But enough with all of the “feel good” stuff. This design is particularly interesting to me because, unlike a traditional axe, it seems to have been designed more for thrusting, and slicing. In fact it probably would be better suited for slicing and thrusting than chopping, since the arch that joins each blade to the shaft do so at a rather steep angle relative to the handle, which would allow for a lot of stress flexing and rapid fatigue were it ever to be used for chopping duty.

What we actually have here, in essence, is two short swords on a big stick. And for the same reasons you wouldn’t use a sword to cut down a tree, you probably wouldn’t want to try and use this axe for chopping. It wouldn’t last very long. However in a battle scenario it would function excellently as a broad sword, scimitar or even a double bladed falchion.

I suppose I ought to stop nit picking, since this was never designed for any real battle. It was designed to be intimidating, but it is a beautiful axe regardless. It is also very typical of Kit Rae’s school of design, and this happens to be one of the few pieces that doesn’t go t0o far over the top, like some of his other work is wont to do. A great piece of bladed art to be sure. If I was limited to having only one battle axe in my blade collection, this would be it.

Black Legion Battle Axe – [Medieval Weapon Art]

2 Responses to “A Wicked Axe.”


  1. 1 ChroniclerLoki
    November 5, 2008 at 12:14 pm

    I love it, I don’t know why but I do.

  2. November 7, 2008 at 12:34 am

    Well it’s certainly cool.. I just wouldn’t trust one in a battle unless I had no choice… 😉


Leave a Reply

May 2007
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Subscribe The Dark Realm!

Add to My AOL

