05
May
07

Edges, Curves and Points…

Well by know you know I’m always on the lookout for blades with lots of edges, sweeping curves, and wicked points. And I believe I’ve found another one : )! We have today an offering from the creative wellspring that is custom knife designer Kit Rae’s mind:

Mithrodin – Sword of the Ancients

Mithrodin - Sword Of the Ancients
[view full size]

Well this sword is just cool. But I do have some little nits to pick, as usual. I believe in simplicity of design. I’m all for adding creative flair, but I believe that form must follow function first, before flair. And i say this because I noticed two things that always raise concerns. Like the little metal trim in the middle of the handle. Now I imagine it could be some sort of grip device to help maintain a firm grip on the handle, but in my mind I’m thinking “why bother?” why not use a high traction handle material or checker the grip, and leave it uniform from hilt to pommel? That way you are not limited in the different ways that the sword could be wielded. You could choke up, down, reverse grip, etc without worrying about that little metal band getting in the way.

My second nit is in the way the blade appears to have been attached to the handle. There appear to be three supplementary bands that cross over the bottom part of the blade. These seem superfluous to me for two reasons. First, in a properly designed sword, they would not be necessary. A full-tang design, coupled with proper bracing by the hilt of the sword, would make for a very strong sword. And second, placing a strap over a section of the blade is just a colossal waste of blade area, and makes it harder to sharpen and clean.

But nitpicks aside, this sword has a lot of things to admire. First it is all curves. Both the handle and the blade are curved, the blade is actually curved in two directions, and the curve of the handle accentuates that in a very complementary way. Then the additional points on the spine of the blade are interesting. Not sure what purpose they would serve, (probably form following flare again) but it looks cool, so I’ll go with it. Then you have the interesting bat wing style pommel. Again, very cool touch. All in all, an elegant kind of sword, almost elven in nature, and another example, imho of one of Kit Rae’s better pieces.

Mithrodin – Sword of the Ancients – [Medieval Weapon Art]

6 Responses to “Edges, Curves and Points…”


  1. 1 Aaron
    August 22, 2008 at 11:37 pm

    I agree. This sword is amazing in it’s design.
    Highly aesthetically pleasing as well as functional.

    As for your nits, I agree and disagree.
    The metal insert in the middle of the handle. Is completely. Useless.
    But for someone who has never picked up a sword (the poor soul) the metal insert might serve as a guide. The curve of the blade highly suggests that this is NOT a stabbing, piercing weapon. So you might think the guide could show you where to place your hands. One high, one low. But it does seem to get in the way more than it would help.

    As for nit number two, the bands, again, are aesthetic. But it might be used as a hand guard. The curve would make it impossible to cut someone with. Why not use it as a guard? It IS a waste of blade space, but you don’t need it that far at the bottom with the curvature as it is used here.

    Just a thought.

    But, like you said, this blade is gorgeous. All curves, points, and edges. One of Kit Rae’s better pieces.

  2. August 25, 2008 at 2:04 am

    OK, I might agree with you on the metal insert being a guide except that I was just picturing holding it in my hand, and that little insert is in a really bad place. It looks like it would almost certainly dig into my palm somewhere, unless I held the grip just beneath it.

    I might have served as a subhilt of some sort, but it’s so far down the grip, that holding it like that would make the rest of the grip pointless. And it’s so far *up* the grip that I don’t even think there would be enough space for my hand to fit between the guard and the insert, without it digging into one of my last two fingers… I just don’t see how it could work…

    True, the bands are purely aesthetic in nature. But I’m just not a fan of compromising functionality for aesthetics. Good point about that section of the blade being more or less useless anyway. In fact, now that you mention it, I don’t think the edge need even extend that far. You could just leave that last curve unsharpened and it would make for a great finger guard.

    I guess those bands just don’t work for me either functionally or esthetically. Where I would have preferred to see a nice clean curving line, I get some ugly speed bumps… Bleh.

  3. 3 ChroniclerLoki
    September 25, 2008 at 2:59 am

    I admit that this may sound far fetched even before I say it, but please bear with me. There is perhaps a function to the form with those bands that you see as speed bumps. Perhaps that is exactly what they were meant for, to slow an enemy blade moving along the flat of the sword and allow you to move your hands to a safer location.

    My only possible guess as to the function of the odd metal plate in the center of the handle would be as a miniature shield, but it seems far more dangerous than I would be willing to attempt with my own fingers. But the blade, and its handle, are sufficiently curved to where I personally would employ a two hand grip and keep a little extra room between myself and my opponent than I would with a strait sword

  4. October 5, 2008 at 1:58 am

    I dunno about how well those things would act as speed bumps. I think they would be more likely to cause the blade to jump over the guard and into the grip area than to actually slow it down… Kind of the opposite of what i’d want to happen lol… 🙂

  5. 5 ChroniclerLoki
    October 5, 2008 at 11:37 am

    I told you the idea was farfetched


Leave a Reply

May 2007
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Subscribe The Dark Realm!

Add to My AOL

