30
Apr
07

Snake Eyes… No Dice…

Today, we go back into the annals of Saturday morning cartoon history. I read that G.I. Joe was a big thing for kids of the 80’s. I wouldn’t know anything about that : P.

But I do know that one of the primary heroes of this old school animated series was none other than… a Ninja. Snake Eyes could possibly have been Americas very first animated Ninja hero. But what makes this particular ninja important to us dark-bladers is that he had a pretty sweet black sword.

Snake Eyes Ninja Sword.

Snake Eyes Ninja Sword
[view full size]

Now that, my friends, is what I call a sinister looking sliver of black steel. But from a practical perspective there is one design feature that I think would weaken the overall strength of the blade. The narrow blade section above the handle.

The section that has been removed from the spine would certainly lighten the sword considerably, and while transferring the center of mass forward, but at the same time it would introduce a structural weakness into the blade, especially at the ingress point just above the serrated spine section if the blade.

I suppose if you were an Uber Commando Ninja like Snake Eyes, this would be of little consequence, as his enemies would have been forcibly separated from life before ever being aware that he was there, much less that his sword possesses a weakness of any sort. But forgive my idle speculation.

In spite of the mechanical shortcomings of the design, there is so much I love about this sword. The sword incorporates a beautiful combination of sweeping curves and abrupt lines, combined in a very complementary way.

The short saw toothed section on the back edge adds to the utilitarian effect of the sword. Even the narrow section removed from the spine, adds to the no-nonsense aesthetics of the blade, as does the simple guard, and the elegantly carved curving handle.

It is as beautiful to me as it is sinister. Which, in my twisted little mind, are in fact the same thing.

No, I don’t need therapy. I can separate the two whenever I want. Really.

No, really…

Snake Eyes Ninja Sword – [Medieval Weapon Art]

4 Responses to “Snake Eyes… No Dice…”


  1. 1 ChroniclerLoki
    September 23, 2008 at 1:31 am

    Actually that small deviation could serve a function that may never have been depicted in those old cartoons, and yes I was an avid watcher of those golden oldies and wonder what happened to the glory days of cartoons? Twenty years ago we had GI Joe, The Adventures of Conan the Barbarian (google Conan, starmetal, or Set, I think you might find the cartoon I am talking about, it has been years and I don’t remember its exact name.) and Thundercats. Now we have crap like Spongeblob Scarepants and Horror the Explorer. Actually going back to the old cartoons, and yes I did find places where I could actually watch them youtube among them, I have found that the older cartoons actually had more entertainment value (except in rare cases like Naruto and certain similar modern anime) And taught MORAL values as well as the occasional language, math or science skills, take Conjunction Junction for example and the classic ‘I’m Just A Bill’.

    I apologize, I went severely off topic there and I might be showing my age (26 thank you quit confusing me with someone twice my age) But I have an actual, physical knife in my collection that is called a Dragons Claw and it is split down the middle, now you would think that it would weaken the blade and break it in half if it were ever used, but it was designed that way to not only catch the blades of your opponents, but to either assist you in removing them from their grip or breaking them, thus ending the fighting capability of said ruined blade for the Dragon’s Claw and other blades of similar design are actually designed to be much stronger around the opening down the length of the center of the blade then the edge where most blades are strengthened to keep the edge in even the harshest combat conditions.

  2. September 25, 2008 at 1:30 am

    Hey CL,

    You wouldn’t happen to have pics of your Dragons Claw that you could post do you? Given what you are describing, I’m wondering if the design is actually as well thought out as you describe. Usually splitting a blade in half has some rather bad consequences.

    But I’d much rather have a pic to go on…

  3. 3 ChroniclerLoki
    September 25, 2008 at 2:46 am

    I’ll see what I can do… I have suffered from temporary (or not) insanity and misplaced my digital camera.

  4. October 5, 2008 at 1:56 am

    Okeydokey… ‘ll be waitin’ for them pics… 🙂


Leave a Reply

April 2007
M T W T F S S
    May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Subscribe The Dark Realm!

Add to My AOL

