29
Apr
07

Dungeons & Dragons & Swords, Oh My…

More movie sword mayhem, this time featuring a very interesting blade from the movie Eragon. Now in truth, this sword is of questionable darkness. However it is still interesting because it is of a rather rare color for swords. So I’m gonna go out on a limb here and present to you:

Zar’roc – The Sword Of Eragon.

Zar'roc - The sword of Eragon
[view full size]

Now obviously this beautiful sword caught my eye because of the deep red/black hue of the blade. This is a rarity. However this complement comes with the negative comment that the handle and pommel look a little toy like. Not particularly sinister. Not even close. It only barely made it into this Blog because of that killer blade… The other dark swords may yet vote it out of the realm. I just thought I’d give it a fair shake…

The Jury’s still out…

Zar’roc – The Sword Of Eragon – [Medieval Weapon Art]

10 Responses to “Dungeons & Dragons & Swords, Oh My…”


  1. 1 ChroniclerLoki
    September 22, 2008 at 2:49 am

    The only thing dark about that blade is the one to whom the Elves presented it after it was forged. But I refuse to go into it at almost two in the morning. Peace out and good night.

  2. October 4, 2008 at 1:35 am

    yea have to agree on how the handle is a toy, trust me i make swords for a living, the blade on the other hand is quite the opposite,love to know how to do it naturly

  3. October 5, 2008 at 3:04 am

    I dont know if it’s possible to make such a blade naturally. Unless you used some kind of special alloy that had that exact color, but then you are still left with how to get the black highlights… Not exactly a trivial task, if it’s even possible… And that’s not even considering whether or not the resultant alloy could even be sword worthy…

  4. October 16, 2008 at 1:23 pm

    Totally awsome. I wish I could have one. The sapphire pommel looks cool!

  5. October 16, 2008 at 1:28 pm

    Hello again! I like the blade, too.

  6. October 16, 2008 at 11:05 pm

    Me, I love the blade… the Hilt… Not so much… But it’s all good… 🙂

  7. 8 Haker10201
    October 24, 2008 at 7:00 am

    Zar’roc should have a ruby in it’s pommel, not a sapphire. Morzan was whom the sword was made for, and swords are made to match the scales on the respective Rider’s dragon, so the blade should be red, and a ruby in the pommel ^_^.

    *cough* I read too much @_@ *cough*

  8. October 25, 2008 at 11:07 am

    LOL

    I do not believe there is such a thing as reading too much. You could run into problems if you tend to suspend reality in favor of fiction, but that’s an entirely different problem… 🙂

    That being said, you are quite correct. Another reader was kind enough to send me a link to a much more accurate version of this sword, which I will be writing a post for in the very near future…


Leave a Reply

April 2007
M T W T F S S
    May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Subscribe The Dark Realm!

Add to My AOL

