09
Apr
07

A sword of a different color…

So I’m sure all of you have seen a sword at one point or another in your life. I’m sure it was all shiny and flashed like a mirror in the sun. And I’m sure some of you thought to yourself: “Ahhh thats cool!, It’s all shiny and stuff! It would look great on my wall!” And if that’s what you really liked about swords, you’d be ecstatic if or when you ever got it home and up on that wall. You’d show it off to your friends, and be like “Yeah, now THAT is a sword…!!!”

But that’s not my favorite thing about swords. The flashiness can be nice, yes, but what i find most intriguing is how unassumingly sinister they can be. How wicked are those curves? For me, the more sinister looking the better. And what, I ask, is more sinister than a black sword? Think about it. A stealthy black blade, slicing silently and covertly through the air. And even more dangerous because you know the user is probably more interested in utility , stealth, technique and skill than in flash and flair… You may never see the blade when it finally comes for you…

Scared? : )

4 Responses to “A sword of a different color…”


  1. 1 ChroniclerLoki
    September 20, 2008 at 3:14 pm

    Lol, I always was amused by colored swords, especially when they were functional, efficient, and deadly as well. I mean, read the original stories of the knights of the round table, I believe it was Lancelot that carried a flame red sword when he first met Arthur, I could be wrong about the specific knight though as I haven’t read the stroies in a long time.

  2. September 21, 2008 at 4:54 am

    Hmmm… Interesting, I don’t recall any of the swords in the stories of King Arthur being colored… Of course I’m no expert in the matter either…

    Are you talking about the knight or squire from one of the early Welsh stories about King Arthur? I don’t think the blades themselves were colored in those, only the hilts and the scabbards…

  3. 3 ChroniclerLoki
    September 21, 2008 at 2:52 pm

    I believe it was the blade as well as the scabbard, though I’d have to raid my mother’s storage unit to find the books and find out again. Lol.

  4. September 25, 2008 at 12:56 am

    Well, if you do end up raiding your Moms storage, and find out, do let me know… You’ve piqued my curiosity…


Leave a Reply

April 2007
M T W T F S S
    May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Subscribe The Dark Realm!

Add to My AOL

