05
Apr
07

Weapons: The spice of life…

OK, so maybe they aren’t the spice of life, but they can be pretty interesting. I have always been intrigued with weapons. Not just bladed weapons, but mechanical, ballistic and mechanized weaponry of all kinds and combinations thereof. The action of an Avtomat Kalashnikova Obrazets 1947 (your garden variety AK-47) is just as interesting to me as that of a Chu-Ko-Nu (a medieval Chinese repeating crossbow).

However, I have always found the designs of various bladed weapons very engaging, being both simple and complex at the same time. From the basic functional design of a hunting knife, woodsman axe, or machete, to the elegance and sophistication of the Spanish Rapier, Native American throwing axe, or Japanese katana, I’ve come to realize that just by looking at the weapons of an era or a culture, you can learn volumes about them. How they lived, how they fought, how advanced they were, what kind of metals were available,… the list goes on.

Along the way my quest to find the most unique and interesting weapons has taught me that they are not as simple as you might think at face value. Many weapons have evolved to include so many specializations, that they are of little value beyond what they were designed for. I’ll do my best to incorporate what I have learned as I go along. But just remember, just because you’ve seen one, doesn’t mean you’ve seen them all. In fact, I can almost guarantee for most of you that, regardless of what you’ve seen, you ain’t seen nothin’ yet : )

0 Responses to “Weapons: The spice of life…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

April 2007
M T W T F S S
    May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Subscribe The Dark Realm!

Add to My AOL

